Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This recipe was good, but if I make it again, I would use a cut other than a pork loin. That much time in the slow cooker for the pork loin was just too much. I think it would have worked better with a pork shoulder cut (not as lean a cut of meat) intended for these longer cooking times. I would also cut back on the chicken broth to perhaps only 1/2 to 3/4 cup. The horseradish mustard gave it a nice kick. I would also sear the meat before adding it to the slow cooker (simply personal preference for a browner roast) and add a bit ot garlic and thyme to the "rub". I may try this one again with the above modifcations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great recipe. I added a layer of small new potatoes along with the apples and onion. Also I didn't add any Liquid except for what the sauerkraut already had. It would be sauerkraut soup with any more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was delicious! Pork and kraut taste great together. Also try kraut and pork spareribs. Pour half of kraut in slow cooker, cut ribs apart and add, then pour in the rest of the kraut and about a cup of chicken broth. Let it cook until the ribs fall off the bone. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
My Gran did a simple version of this using homemade kraut potatoes and various cut of pork. the potatoes are sliced thin and used almost like a crust. Layer of potatoes, then layer of pork cover with kraut then another layer of potatoes. about 3 layers for a roasting pan. Have tried it with various types of pork which is quite important to the taste. Side ribs are what seem best. Have tried with loin but just isn't quite right. Potatoes should be a russet variety. And the kraut has to be a salt cure not a wine cure. The wine cure really ruins the dish. You may want additional salt as the potatoes kill that but only after serving. Black pepper fresh coarse ground when putting together and a bit after works well. When done this really is a fantastic winter comfort food. If you like salty kraut, pork, and potatoes then try this or one of the versions you will find one that works and will never be able to make it enough to satisfy your taste for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I have to start by saying I HATE sauerkraut. I want to like it! I've always loved pork cooked in it, but can't stand the overwhelming flavor it has. I added potatoes to mine do I wouldn't have to come up with an additional side last minute, only change I made. And WOW!!!I never would have dreamt that an apple could make such a difference! I also want to say this us the first time I've felt compelled to rate and review a recipe. I've found many good recipes on here, but none that blew my mind like this one. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was excellent,after reading some of the other reviews, I omitted the salt altogether because of the chicken broth and next time I make this I will omit the chicken broth altogether is does make is somewhat soupy. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Since I am not a cook need to tell why the apples are there. To counteract the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My family really loved this and it was super easy to make. Next time, however, I'd add more spice to kick it up a notch. Perhaps more black pepper, some tarragon and crushed red pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OeneLeonard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Didn't use or need the broth. I do add plenty of chopped fresh cabbage to stretch the dish and lessen the saltiness, which in the end, is indetectable from the sauerkraut. My family loves this, and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
t have made this dish several times. I have tried different crock pots. I have and haven't browned it. Based on my experiences., here goes. Definitely brown the roast. I added potatoes on the bottom and put the roast on top. I covered it in two small bags of sauerkraut. The roast always comes out a little drier than when I cook it in the oven. I put my crock pot of low for six hours. This was needed cook the potatoes. I just think the roast is too lean like one other person said. I will use a pork shoulder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States