Slow Cooker Santa Fe Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
My husband loved this! I used Pace picante sauce - medium hot - and this seemed to solve the bland issue. He got out Tapitio sauce expecting to use it but he did not. He loved the taste. Used handmade corn tortillas, shredded cabbage, green onions and chopped tomatoes as toppings. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This recipe was delicious and really easy to make! I thought the chicken might be too bland so I added some chili powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper to the chicken before placing it in the slow cooker. It turned out really well! Shred your chicken before adding the cream cheese to make it easier to eat. Serve with basic taco fixings - lettuce, tomato, salsa, sour cream, etc - for a really yummy and easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Very delicious! Everyone loved it!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This a great and fool proof recipe. I give it full stars as is, but I've also tweaked it a few times and it has turned out well then too (what salsa you use will make a difference in the ultimate outcome). I almost always use three large breast rather than four, unless they are particularly small. Changes I've made that work: pinto beans instead of black, added Cayenne pepper seasoning, frozen corn instead of canned, and/or I've added frozen green and/or red peppers. Homemade corn tortillas is the way to go, but if you don't want to go to the hassle, store-bought flour is good too. After we run out of tortillas, we use tortilla chips to finish it off. Tip: Each time I go to shred the chicken, I look at the mix and think "this is too runny!," but without fail, after I've added back the shredded chicken, added the cream cheese, and let it cook for another 30 minutes - it is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Instead of salsa I substituted tomatoes with diced green chilies. Also, take the lid of the crock pot when you mix in the cream cheese so some of the liquid will evaporate. Very good on flour tortillas topped with cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nutt Tanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is one of my favorite easy recipes. I have always used Pace Picante Sauce and never thought it was bland. Definitely drain the corn or use frozen. We serve it over rice with corn chips on the side. The rice with the flavorful chicken and sauce makes it extra creamy and delicious. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was so easy to throw in the crockpot as I was running off to work in the morning. After work I walked in to this fabulous aroma. I didn't have a can of corn but frozen worked fine. The chicken shredded in moments, and I used non-fat cream cheese. We served it on tortillas with some shredded cabbage, but serving it on rice or a baked potato would be great as well. Kudos, and Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made this but it needed some additional flavors just like the other reviews mentioned! I added a whole jar of salsa verde, added hot sauce, onions, and garlic. Just put in extra flavors that you enjoy and this is a great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Love this recipe! I use this for making enchiladas but I also add green chili and jalapeño to the crock pot and then enchilada sauce when I put it in the oven. Like others have said I also use fat free cream cheese! I hate anything FF but you can't even tell. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
We love this recipe. I read how some thought it was bland so I sprinkled a package of taco seasoning on the chicken. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. It was yummy. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States