Slow Cooker Santa Fe Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I so wanted to like this, because it was easy. However, it was a little bland for us, even after I pumped it up some with 1 tsp. ground cumin, 1/2 tsp. Penzey's Bold Taco Seasoning, and 1/2 tsp. chili powder. The blsl chicken was completely done after 2 1/2 hours, too. I shredded the chicken and added it back to the pot when I added the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
My husband loved this! I used Pace picante sauce - medium hot - and this seemed to solve the bland issue. He got out Tapitio sauce expecting to use it but he did not. He loved the taste. Used handmade corn tortillas, shredded cabbage, green onions and chopped tomatoes as toppings. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I only had legs & thighs. Removed skin with paper towels. Hold ckn in one hand with paper towel. Grab skin with other hand with paper towel. Sooo easy. I did use a little extra salsa with a little ckn broth (1/4 cup). Followed recipe only I cooked mine in my electric pressure cooker. 20 minutes. Removed bones & shredded ckn. Dark meat always has more flavor. Served with chopped green onion. sliced olives, sour cream & shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This recipe was delicious and really easy to make! I thought the chicken might be too bland so I added some chili powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper to the chicken before placing it in the slow cooker. It turned out really well! Shred your chicken before adding the cream cheese to make it easier to eat. Serve with basic taco fixings - lettuce, tomato, salsa, sour cream, etc - for a really yummy and easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Instead of salsa I substituted tomatoes with diced green chilies. Also, take the lid of the crock pot when you mix in the cream cheese so some of the liquid will evaporate. Very good on flour tortillas topped with cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was so easy to throw in the crockpot as I was running off to work in the morning. After work I walked in to this fabulous aroma. I didn't have a can of corn but frozen worked fine. The chicken shredded in moments, and I used non-fat cream cheese. We served it on tortillas with some shredded cabbage, but serving it on rice or a baked potato would be great as well. Kudos, and Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Very delicious! Everyone loved it!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Needs more spices and I couldn't taste the cream cheese at all. It would probably be better with spices, shredded cheese and an assortment of taco-type toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I made it but it was a little bland so I added taco seasoning to it and also folded the tortilla to enclose the filling and browned it on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is one of my favorite easy recipes. I have always used Pace Picante Sauce and never thought it was bland. Definitely drain the corn or use frozen. We serve it over rice with corn chips on the side. The rice with the flavorful chicken and sauce makes it extra creamy and delicious. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States