Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I made this last week, and I decided after contemplation, that it would be simpler for me to do the entire recipe in an electric skillet, and boy was I right. :) I browned the patties and then added the soups, etc, and let it all simmer covered for about 15-20 minutes. It was so easy, and so good, though a bit salty. Next time, I will only use half of the onion soup mix, and low sodium soup. I only had one dirty pan to clean, so to me, it was awesome this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1671 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This recipe was really easy and very tasty. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because it was a bit salty. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will use low sodium soup and quarter some potatoes to help with that. I browned the hamburger patties the night before. Then the next morning threw it all in the crockpot and was off to work. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Excellent recipe. My husband loves this meal. The only change I would make is to use 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup instead of the chicken. Both hubby and I didnt care for the recipe when I used the cream of chicken (didnt taste like salisbury steak). Added chopped onion to the mixture for added flavor and use ground SIRLOIN--it's the best. Also, Country Crock now makes mashed potatoes you can buy in the refridgerator isle of the grocery store, they are kind of expensive, but they are sooo good. Makes the meal even easier since you can microwave them! Goes great with the salisbury steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
No one gives a rat's backside what YOU would change or how YOU changed it to make it better in YOUR opinion. Just rate and review the recipe. If you want to alter the recipe, do so and submit it as your own for review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This is fantastic salisbury steak. By far the best I've ever had. I cut the recipe in half and only made 4 patties. I omitted cream of chicken soup and substituted a jar of beef gravy. I also added an entire package of sliced baby portobello mushrooms. The sauce turned out wonderful but the patties were even better! Served with egg noodles and green beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
495 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This was an excellent recipe. This was a huge hit, everyone loved it. I did not have aujus mix used 2 beef boulion cubes instead. I did use the cream of chicken soup will try cream of mushroom next time. Just because we like the mushrooms and that flavor. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSCONNIEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
What a great recipe! I used extra lean ground beef and beefy onion soup mix along with the Italian breadcrumbs and milk to make the patties. For the sauce I used two cans of reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup mixed with the whole packet of au jus and water... came out perfect, not too salty. My two boys and my husband really ate this up! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Like other reviewers I changed up the recipe a little. I used cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken, used beef broth instead water, used gravy mix instead of aujus mix and added a few "glugs" of worchestershire sauce. All 3 kids and hubby loved it and it was easy to make. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
best salisbury steak ever!!! threw in some potatoes cut up small about 1 hour before hand and it came out with meat, potatoes and gravy all together:) yeah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I have been cooking for 35+ years and this was fabulous! My husband and kids (who are very picky) cleared their plates and said I could make this "Anytime"! I made mashed potatoes to go with this dinner - yum! I used 1/2 of the dry onion/mushroom soup mix so it would not be too salty. But it is MUCH BETTER with the CREAM OF CHICKEN then the Cream of Mushroom!!! It may sound strange, but once you add the Dry Au Jus Mix to the Cream of Chicken, it turns it to a beef flavor, not chicken. Instead of water I also added Chicken Broth. Beef broth would make it too "beefy". This gave it a very nice, smooth flavor. I also added a Jar of Mushrooms (drained). This is the 3rd time I've made it in a month!! Very unusual for my household. I also like it because it is so easy. Don't over mix your beef mixture, that will make it tough. If you handle with care, it will not fall apart. I love it when I find recipes that are wonderful and cooked in slow cooker/crock pot. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States