Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I made this last week, and I decided after contemplation, that it would be simpler for me to do the entire recipe in an electric skillet, and boy was I right. :) I browned the patties and then added the soups, etc, and let it all simmer covered for about 15-20 minutes. It was so easy, and so good, though a bit salty. Next time, I will only use half of the onion soup mix, and low sodium soup. I only had one dirty pan to clean, so to me, it was awesome this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1537 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This recipe was really easy and very tasty. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because it was a bit salty. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will use low sodium soup and quarter some potatoes to help with that. I browned the hamburger patties the night before. Then the next morning threw it all in the crockpot and was off to work. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Excellent recipe. My husband loves this meal. The only change I would make is to use 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup instead of the chicken. Both hubby and I didnt care for the recipe when I used the cream of chicken (didnt taste like salisbury steak). Added chopped onion to the mixture for added flavor and use ground SIRLOIN--it's the best. Also, Country Crock now makes mashed potatoes you can buy in the refridgerator isle of the grocery store, they are kind of expensive, but they are sooo good. Makes the meal even easier since you can microwave them! Goes great with the salisbury steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This is fantastic salisbury steak. By far the best I've ever had. I cut the recipe in half and only made 4 patties. I omitted cream of chicken soup and substituted a jar of beef gravy. I also added an entire package of sliced baby portobello mushrooms. The sauce turned out wonderful but the patties were even better! Served with egg noodles and green beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
466 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
No one gives a rat's backside what YOU would change or how YOU changed it to make it better in YOUR opinion. Just rate and review the recipe. If you want to alter the recipe, do so and submit it as your own for review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This was an excellent recipe. This was a huge hit, everyone loved it. I did not have aujus mix used 2 beef boulion cubes instead. I did use the cream of chicken soup will try cream of mushroom next time. Just because we like the mushrooms and that flavor. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSCONNIEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
What a great recipe! I used extra lean ground beef and beefy onion soup mix along with the Italian breadcrumbs and milk to make the patties. For the sauce I used two cans of reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup mixed with the whole packet of au jus and water... came out perfect, not too salty. My two boys and my husband really ate this up! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Like other reviewers I changed up the recipe a little. I used cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken, used beef broth instead water, used gravy mix instead of aujus mix and added a few "glugs" of worchestershire sauce. All 3 kids and hubby loved it and it was easy to make. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
best salisbury steak ever!!! threw in some potatoes cut up small about 1 hour before hand and it came out with meat, potatoes and gravy all together:) yeah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
We made this last night and it was very good. I made a few minor changes. Due to the other reviews regarding the saltiness of the meal, I used half the italian bread crumbs and half plain. I also used 1-1/2 cup water and added about 1/4 cup red cooking wine. We didn't think it was too salty...nowhere near too salty, but I could see how others might. Guess it depends on how much you like salt. We made it with garlic mashed potatoes and the gravy was great over that as well. We ate the leftovers today as sandwiches. Very good. We will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks

The slow cooker is the best way to make perfectly tender cheese steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States