Slow Cooker Rosemary and Red Pepper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I think with some modifications this could be a tasty meal. It smelled wonderful in the beginning. I cut the chicken into large chunks and that could be why it cooked in 3-4 hours. The chicken and the ground pork were very dry. Also the sauce was very bitter with only the vermouth. I had to add quite a bit of salt and a few big scoops of sugar to lessen the bitterness. I cook by recipes mostly and am not that great at modifying a base with vermouth only. So, others may know just what this recipe needs. Linguine was a good pasta for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This was awesome!!! No dry chicken if you add some liquid, my changes: crush the rosemary; 1 lb sausage, browned; 4 pcs chicken; white wine instead of vermouth; add 1 cup marinara sauce; add 1 (14 oz) can of chicken broth. I had to double the cornstarch mixture because of the increased liquid. It was really great, a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Great comfort food for a cold winter night!! I used white cooking wine and added a can of Italian style diced tomatoes, which provided more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
My husband and I both thought this was excellent and VERY flavorful. It does need salt added to the crock pot ingredients before cooking for 5-7 hours. Also, I used chicken broth instead of the vermouth in the main recipe. You can make a lot more sauce than the recipe calls for and I think that it really adds to the dish. I used about 1/4 cup of bisquick (instead of cornstarch) and more chicken broth (instead of water) to make the sauce and it was delicious over the chicken and thin spaghetti I served it with. You can not go wrong with a low fat/low calorie/low carb meal that tastes this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magisterdgg
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Quite enjoyable: Chicken was a bit dry, but sauce was very tasty. Carmelized onions & peppers before adding to crock pot. Also cut breasts in half and browned chicken and sausage (removed casing) before adding to pot. Added 1/2 cup white wine, 1/2 cup chicken stock, sliced mushrooms to crock pot. Doubled spices and cornstarch. Served over tortiglioni with a Pinot Grigio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
My Whole family loved this recipe! My son even requests it! I did add a bouillion cube to the sauce at the end and only cook it for 4 hours so the chicken is not over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I needed a recipe to feed a group of people that I had invited over from church and I needed something easy because I work two jobs. This crockpot recipe looked ideal. I did all the work the night before and then just put the crockpot on in the morning. I served this with Italian Green beans, corn pudding, a mandarin orange spinach salad and a fruit truffle. There wasn't one piece of food left and several asked for the recipe. It was WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jeffolds
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Fantastic!!!!! lo calorie and delicious! my sons loved it (8 and 6 years old). that's a huge compliment for chicken that is not in mcnugget form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I used 1/2c white wine, 15oz can crushed tomatoes, hot italian sausage (left in the casing and browned), fresh rosemary,I carmalized the onions and peppers before adding them to the crock pot. The smell was amazing.. There was plenty of liquid....served it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This was a great recipe! We had an Italian themed night and I really wanted to stay away from serving pasta. Everyone at the table liked it, especially the suace. Keep in mind when you remove the chicken, prior to making the sauce, that the vegetables, sausage, and chicken will have "bonded" together. I didn't quite get that from the recipe and the first piece I took out was a little messy. Think of it as stuffed chicken breasts with the stuffing on the outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States