Slow Cooker Rosemary and Red Pepper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Very good, added tomato paste and made the sauce with bisquick and chicken broth (per other reviews). Will make more sauce next time to cover all the noodles. I liked very much, husband and son aren't big chicken fans but they ate it, so I guess that means it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Followed other suggestions and added 1/4 tsp salt and a small jar of tomato sauce. I also browned the sausage and chicken before adding to the crockpot. We really enjoyed this served over linguine. My husband thought it might be even better with hot italian sausage (I used sweet) but the kids and I loved it as it was. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This is really good. I added a can of cannelini beans and some chopped carrots and served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHATCH77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This is an excellent dish. We followed the recipe, but also took others' advice by adding 1/4 teaspoon salt and a small can of tomato sauce. We didn't use red wine or vermouth at all; instead we used apple juice. We did cut up the chicken right away, and we think this helped it cook more evenly and retain the juices. We LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Yum! I was a little apprehensive at first, but I followed some of the other suggestions (I used red wine instead of dry vermouth and I added a little tomato sauce) and it turned out wonderfully. I did have to add a little more corn starch to thicken the sauce up. Overall, it was very good. My friends gave it rave reviews and some said they were even going to start checking out this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
i too switched this recipe up a little, but everyone enjoyed it. i used red wine instead of vermouth & added 1/2 can of tomato sauce. also, when i pulled out the chicken to thicken the sauce, i sliced it up & put it back in the sauce. then ladled it over pasta. will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
EXCELLENT! Used what I had on hand..changed to red wine instead of vermouth and used regular Italian sausage instead of turkey sausage. A definite winner and I'll be serving it to company real soon. Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Great recipe...could use more taste, though. I added some salt and cracked pepper. Will probably use more bell pepper next time as well. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This was outstanding! I did make a few changes to use what I had on hand. I used Chirizo Sausage instead of Turkey and browned it before adding it to the slow cooker. I used Red Wine instead of Vermouth, fresh Rosemary instead of dried, only one clove of garlic and added 2 tablespoons of Tomato Paste. I cut the chicken up into chunky pieces so it only took about 5 hours to cook on Low. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
My husband and I both thought this was excellent and VERY flavorful. It does need salt added to the crock pot ingredients before cooking for 5-7 hours. Also, I used chicken broth instead of the vermouth in the main recipe. You can make a lot more sauce than the recipe calls for and I think that it really adds to the dish. I used about 1/4 cup of bisquick (instead of cornstarch) and more chicken broth (instead of water) to make the sauce and it was delicious over the chicken and thin spaghetti I served it with. You can not go wrong with a low fat/low calorie/low carb meal that tastes this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States