Slow Cooker Rosemary and Red Pepper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
My husband loved this dish. I also liked it though I'm not as much of a meat eater. I smelled wonderful as it was cooking and made a lovely dinner. I had no problems with dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
My husband and I both thought this was excellent and VERY flavorful. It does need salt added to the crock pot ingredients before cooking for 5-7 hours. Also, I used chicken broth instead of the vermouth in the main recipe. You can make a lot more sauce than the recipe calls for and I think that it really adds to the dish. I used about 1/4 cup of bisquick (instead of cornstarch) and more chicken broth (instead of water) to make the sauce and it was delicious over the chicken and thin spaghetti I served it with. You can not go wrong with a low fat/low calorie/low carb meal that tastes this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This was outstanding! I did make a few changes to use what I had on hand. I used Chirizo Sausage instead of Turkey and browned it before adding it to the slow cooker. I used Red Wine instead of Vermouth, fresh Rosemary instead of dried, only one clove of garlic and added 2 tablespoons of Tomato Paste. I cut the chicken up into chunky pieces so it only took about 5 hours to cook on Low. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
EXCELLENT! Used what I had on hand..changed to red wine instead of vermouth and used regular Italian sausage instead of turkey sausage. A definite winner and I'll be serving it to company real soon. Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This is an excellent dish. We followed the recipe, but also took others' advice by adding 1/4 teaspoon salt and a small can of tomato sauce. We didn't use red wine or vermouth at all; instead we used apple juice. We did cut up the chicken right away, and we think this helped it cook more evenly and retain the juices. We LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Followed other suggestions and added 1/4 tsp salt and a small jar of tomato sauce. I also browned the sausage and chicken before adding to the crockpot. We really enjoyed this served over linguine. My husband thought it might be even better with hot italian sausage (I used sweet) but the kids and I loved it as it was. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Terrific recipe! I also, used wine, added the salt and small tomaoto sauce. I also added 1 can of diced tomatoes to make sure there was enough sauce for pasta...can't go wrong with this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
My whole family liked this recipe. The kids didn't care for the whole pieces of rosemary, so next time I will crush it with a mortar and pestle. I changed it a little. I added a can of artichoke hearts with vegetables, and poured a can of chicken broth ove the chicken. I also added salt as someone else suggested. It was good served over pasta, I think it would be good over rice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This was awesome!!! No dry chicken if you add some liquid, my changes: crush the rosemary; 1 lb sausage, browned; 4 pcs chicken; white wine instead of vermouth; add 1 cup marinara sauce; add 1 (14 oz) can of chicken broth. I had to double the cornstarch mixture because of the increased liquid. It was really great, a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
My Whole family loved this recipe! My son even requests it! I did add a bouillion cube to the sauce at the end and only cook it for 4 hours so the chicken is not over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States