Slow Cooker Rosemary and Red Pepper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
My whole family loved this meal, and we have two very picky eaters. Because when I went to the liquor store I couldn't remember if I needed dry vermouth or sweet vermouth, I ended up buying sweet vermouth on the clerk's recommendation. He said dry vermouth will dry out a recipe, but sweet vermouth will make it moist. It certainly worked! Awesome meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was a good recipe - my family enjoyed it, but it probably won't make it into the weekly rotation. Between the chicken and sausage, it was a TON of food for 2 adults/3 children, even though I halved the recipe. But I'll probably put it on my list of things to make every couple months since it was easy enough and a new way to make chicken (and get some good red peppers into everyone's tummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I was a bit skeptical about this recipe as it was way too easy. My husband absolutely loved this, but he did add some jarred mushrooms to his serving. I thought it was pretty tasty, especially given the effort and that this recipe did not include a can of cream soup or a pkg of dried onion soup. I would probably add additional veggies, maybe potatoes, so as not to require preparing additional side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was terrible. We didn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This is good, but with modifications. After reading other reviews I added more liquid, specifically: 1/2 cup of white wine, 1/2 cup pasta sauce, 1/2 chicken broth. I think the flavor of the sauce was really good with all the herbs. But I cooked the chicken for only 3 hours on low and it was dry! Bottom line, it's a decent recipe and we'll eat the leftovers, but it's not going to be put in my regular recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This recipe was awesome! The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I had to double the amount of all the spices. I'm from the south and have learned if you want your food to have flavor, when you follow a recipe you HAVE to increase the amount of spices called for. Other than that it was delicious. I saw some people served it with pasta. I served it with rice which seemed to soak the sauce up better than pasta would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This dish has a great overall flavor. However, the suce didn't thicken up as I would have liked and the sausage proved problematic as it cooked into a solid mass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I sustituted dry white wine for the vermouth, and I doubled the amount to half a cup. My family likes alot of seasoning, so I also used twice as much rosemary and oregano. I served over whole wheat pasta with some romano cheese on top. It was excellent. The chicken was moist, the sausage added alot of flavor, and the left overs were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was flavorful and easy to toss in the crockpot. I used sweet Italian turkey sausage, white wine and added chopped tomatoes. I served it over linguine and my finicky sausage hater even admitted it was better than she expected. I combined the leftover pasta and chicken and stored in the fridge for a day and it was even better. Thanks, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
wonderful! this is my favorite recipe that i've gotten from this site so far. i changed the following things...i added some mushrooms and about half a can of chicken broth as well as some garlic salt and served it over angel hair pasta. it was so good that i'm going to recommend it to my dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States