Slow Cooker Rosemary and Red Pepper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This recipe is just deish!! I have made it 3 times since the first and the whole family loves it!! A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I think this recipe is a little bland. I used white wine instead of vermouth and I added a can of stewed tomatoes. I think it needed chicken stock or broth, some crushed red pepper and more garlic as well as salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Very dry. I used white wine instead of vermouth, added fresh mushrooms & added a can of tomatoes. I think I just have bad luck with chicken in the croc pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I always make the recipe as written to start. With that said I found this a little lacking so I tweaked it a little. Used bone-in chicken the browned it and the sausage first (sun dried-chicken sausage). Carmelized the onions and peppers and then placed in cooker with one small can diced tomatoes with oregano and rosemary. Substituted one can of chicken stock for the vermouth and added small button mushrooms for the last two hours. Only took 5 hours on low to be fall off the bone delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry ny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Pretty good. I added a lot more liquid using chicken broth instead of vermouth and it kept the chicken moist. As a result, though I didn't really get a gravy, so I served over rice. It was still pretty good. Very easy, too; I loved that I could put it in the slow cooker in the morning and have a good meal at dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Not bad, but not so good either. It lacked flavor and the chicken was a little dry (and we'd used thighs). Next time I'd add a can of diced tomato (as I now see others suggested) and use chicken broth instead of vermouth. I'd add more veggies, too - more pepper, maybe some banana peppers, and probably some mushrooms. I would double the oregano, add more rosemary, and put the salt in earlier in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. A combination of two of my favorite meats, lots of flavor and punch. A new favorite. I would not change a thing in this! My husband (who is not crazy for chicken) went wild when he tasted it, he loves this recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Yummy and easy! I added sauteed fresh mushrooms before thickening the sauce. I also added a half can of chicken broth when cooking to make sure chicken and sausage were not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made this for today's Sunday dinner as a last minute decision. It was a great decision! Last night plans were made for my daughter and parents to come over for dinner today. So, this morning as the pineapple upside down cake was in the oven I had to figure out what I could make. I did add a can of diced, Italian style tomatoes as others suggested, as well as fresh sliced mushrooms. I also did not have Italian sausage, but used Chorizo sausage instead. We used rotini pasta as that is all I had. This was very good. I did cook mine on high for 5 hours and my chicken was not dry at all. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Wonderful after a day outside in the cold...the layers I used were onions on the bottem, then broccoli and mushrooms...used the recommendations of 1/2 cup wine and 1/2 cup chicken stock...spiced it up...and put frozen chicken thighs on top...cooked 5 hours on high...browned the chicken while making the sauce. Served it all on Rotini...wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States