Slow Cooker Root Vegetable Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
my friends & i loved this! we had a non-traditional thanksgiving this year & this was an excellent side dish. i kept stirring about every 45 minutes to evenly coat all the spices (which i doubled) & noticed it was ready after just 4.5 hours, so i turned it to 'warm' for the remaining 3 hours i'd allocated. next time, i will add more fruit, but not much. it is excellent served over toasted couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I have lived in Morocco and this brought back the most wonderful memories of Moroccan food at its best! It's worth the extra time. My family has never tried the food since we don't live in an area that serves Moroccan food. They absolutely loved it. My finicky son asked that I cook it twice a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I really liked this, but agree with some other comments: add more stock and spices and apricots. but i found the cooking time alright, and enjoyed the taste thoroughly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Super Easy Amazingly Good A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I read the reviews carefully before i made this. In addition to doubling the spices, the dried fruits and the liquid, I used white yams instead of using turnips, which added another sweet vegetable. I also reduced cooking time ti 6.5 hours on low and toasted a mix of regular and buckwheat couscous to go with it. The other addition that I recommend (suggested by a friend who ate this dish and also spent time in Morocco) is hot sauce to taste, which can be added once the dish is served. A day later, the leftovers tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gibbletca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this for dinner earlier this week. As per recommendation I increased the liquid and double the seasoning amounts. I made the broth in 3:1 proportion, but 2.5 or 2:1 would probably work better next time. I didn't have turnips but did have sweet potatoes, so I used one large sweet potato and about 1/2 to 3/4 lb carrots and parsnips. I didn't have dried apricots, but had raisins instead so I did that with the prunes. For time constraints I cooked it on high for 3 and a half hours. Turned out great and I'd definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Great recipe. I didn't have the time to cook it in the crock pot so it went in the oven. I used raisens instead of the apricots and prunes. I had it for breakfast this morning. Better the next day! I will make this frequently and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This is really quite tasty. I doubled all of the spices except for the cayenne, used a whole 28 oz box of vegetable broth, and cooked it on low for at least 9 hours. Hubby loved it so much that the changes have been added to my "custom version" so I don't have to remember what I did when it's time to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rach
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I carefully read reviews before making this recipe as I've never made anything like it before. I took some suggestions from other reviews and did a few other things differently. It came out quite good! I have a smaller crock pot so I ended up using 1/2 of a large parsnip, 4 large carrots, 2 large white sweet potatoes, 1 large white onion and added apricots, prunes and dates. For spices, I doubled the amount in the recipe and also added a hint of cardamom, fresh ginger (and a little of the ground) as well as a hint of curry powder. I used 2 vegetable boulion cubes and added water to about 1/2 inch above the mixture, (don't let the photo fool you-it's the before pic). I tossed all of the ingredients in a larger dish before cooking to ensure even flavor. After about 4 hours of stewing on low, this dish was extremely fragrant and tasty. I think with this recipe is very simple and versatile. I served it with white basmati rice-delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Quite good and very adaptable. It is a great starting point for a tagine if you have lots of firm veggies to use up (I used parsnips, turnips, carrots, and spaghetti squash--any winter squash or potatoes would also be good). I cooked at 350F for an hour in the oven and it was perfect. I double the seasonings, as suggested by others. And I used sun dried tomatoes and raisins instead of apricots (I'm sure any dried fruit will be great). I also thought it could you a sprinkle of salt and a squeeze of lemon after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States