Slow Cooker Root Vegetable Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I like Morocca food, but this recipe is a little disappointing. The concept behind this recipe is great; the excecution is not. First, it takes a lot longer than about 45 min-1hr to peel and dice so many tubers, not 1/2 an hour. Second, 9 hours is so long that the vegetables get overcooked. Third, there's so little broth that you run the risk of eating steamed vegetables rather than stewed ones. For the amount of vegetables, there's not enough spice, so it comes out rather bland. My suggestions: less cooking time by an hour or two, double the spice and the broth (or mix in a second set of spices after you finish cooking), use only 3/4 lbs of each tuber and increase the amount of dried fruit. I suppose suggesting using chicken broth or adding meat would be a travesty, but it would help make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I read the reviews carefully before i made this. In addition to doubling the spices, the dried fruits and the liquid, I used white yams instead of using turnips, which added another sweet vegetable. I also reduced cooking time ti 6.5 hours on low and toasted a mix of regular and buckwheat couscous to go with it. The other addition that I recommend (suggested by a friend who ate this dish and also spent time in Morocco) is hot sauce to taste, which can be added once the dish is served. A day later, the leftovers tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gibbletca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was good! I made it as suggested with double the amount of fruits, spices and broth. I cut out the turnips (personal preference) and added a can of chick peas. We added hot sauce and served it with couscous and a salad. I felt like I was back in Morocco. Even my non-vegan husband thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I have lived in Morocco and this brought back the most wonderful memories of Moroccan food at its best! It's worth the extra time. My family has never tried the food since we don't live in an area that serves Moroccan food. They absolutely loved it. My finicky son asked that I cook it twice a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I do agree with some of the reviewers that this needs more time in preparation but I found the cooking time to be about right (depends on your slow cooker. Also, the spices need adjusting and more salt is needed. Try using as many fresh spices as you can find (instead of powdered) and make sure the liquid covers the vegetables plus an inch or so. Using whole wheat couscous adds a nice taste also. This has become a "regular" dish at my house as it can be adjusted for spice levels and whatever root vegetables you can find at the greengrocer's. Nice introduction to North African flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this for dinner earlier this week. As per recommendation I increased the liquid and double the seasoning amounts. I made the broth in 3:1 proportion, but 2.5 or 2:1 would probably work better next time. I didn't have turnips but did have sweet potatoes, so I used one large sweet potato and about 1/2 to 3/4 lb carrots and parsnips. I didn't have dried apricots, but had raisins instead so I did that with the prunes. For time constraints I cooked it on high for 3 and a half hours. Turned out great and I'd definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Do not cook this for 9 hours! I cooked it on low for 4 hours and it would have been fine being cooked for just 3 hours. I added diced Yukon Gold potatoes and two tablespoons of peach jam instead of the dried apricots and prunes. I also added fresh cilantro and parsley tossed in at the end rather than dried. I served with a curried rice pilaf and topped it with french fried onion pieces. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This needed salt, and could have used a lot more dried apricots and prunes. I added a few more of each and wish i had tripled or quadrupled the fruit. you couldn't taste it in the finished product. But the flavorings and seasoning was terrific. Served it with couscous that I toasted in a dry skillet first. Gave it a nice nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Being a vegetarian, I pretty much love all vegetables. And I am no stranger to Moroccan, Indian, or other spicy foods. But something about this combination of veggies and spices was FUNKY. I dare say it had sort of a "bile" flavor. I followed the directions very carefully too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trampoline

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Usually, I relly enjoy Moroccan food... but this was not good! I think it was the combination of the fragrant turnips and parsnips with all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States