Slow Cooker Root Vegetable Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I do agree with some of the reviewers that this needs more time in preparation but I found the cooking time to be about right (depends on your slow cooker. Also, the spices need adjusting and more salt is needed. Try using as many fresh spices as you can find (instead of powdered) and make sure the liquid covers the vegetables plus an inch or so. Using whole wheat couscous adds a nice taste also. This has become a "regular" dish at my house as it can be adjusted for spice levels and whatever root vegetables you can find at the greengrocer's. Nice introduction to North African flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I read the reviews carefully before i made this. In addition to doubling the spices, the dried fruits and the liquid, I used white yams instead of using turnips, which added another sweet vegetable. I also reduced cooking time ti 6.5 hours on low and toasted a mix of regular and buckwheat couscous to go with it. The other addition that I recommend (suggested by a friend who ate this dish and also spent time in Morocco) is hot sauce to taste, which can be added once the dish is served. A day later, the leftovers tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gibbletca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BERTSWERT
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I took the suggestions of other reviewers and added more broth (chicken) and doubled the fruit and spices. Everything else remained the same. I usually love morroccan food and flavor, but this didn't take; It still seemed bland and unappetizing. No suggestions for improvement, I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Super Easy Amazingly Good A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
deeeelicious! I followed the recipe fairly true to form, except substituted a scant teaspoon of harisa for the cayenne. The only drawback was that the parsnips and turnips didn't fare so well as leftovers; the texture got a bit too sloppy for my liking. Otherwise a hearty and divine meal, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This needed salt, and could have used a lot more dried apricots and prunes. I added a few more of each and wish i had tripled or quadrupled the fruit. you couldn't taste it in the finished product. But the flavorings and seasoning was terrific. Served it with couscous that I toasted in a dry skillet first. Gave it a nice nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I really liked this, but agree with some other comments: add more stock and spices and apricots. but i found the cooking time alright, and enjoyed the taste thoroughly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was good. I cooked it slowly on the stovetop, not in a slow cooker. I omitted the prunes (I didn't have any) and substitited some raisins. I needed to add about twice the stock. I also added boneless chicken breast pieces and made kind of a stew of it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori VE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
my friends & i loved this! we had a non-traditional thanksgiving this year & this was an excellent side dish. i kept stirring about every 45 minutes to evenly coat all the spices (which i doubled) & noticed it was ready after just 4.5 hours, so i turned it to 'warm' for the remaining 3 hours i'd allocated. next time, i will add more fruit, but not much. it is excellent served over toasted couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I have lived in Morocco and this brought back the most wonderful memories of Moroccan food at its best! It's worth the extra time. My family has never tried the food since we don't live in an area that serves Moroccan food. They absolutely loved it. My finicky son asked that I cook it twice a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States