Slow Cooker Root Vegetable Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Great recipe. I didn't have the time to cook it in the crock pot so it went in the oven. I used raisens instead of the apricots and prunes. I had it for breakfast this morning. Better the next day! I will make this frequently and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this for dinner earlier this week. As per recommendation I increased the liquid and double the seasoning amounts. I made the broth in 3:1 proportion, but 2.5 or 2:1 would probably work better next time. I didn't have turnips but did have sweet potatoes, so I used one large sweet potato and about 1/2 to 3/4 lb carrots and parsnips. I didn't have dried apricots, but had raisins instead so I did that with the prunes. For time constraints I cooked it on high for 3 and a half hours. Turned out great and I'd definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
We just didn't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellie81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Hubby liked this; I didn't. We both thought it was missing something, however. For me, this combo of veggies just didn't work with these spices. Per other reviewers' suggestions, I doubled the spices, fruit, and broth. Although the consensus among reviewers seems to be that 4-5 hrs. is the ideal cook time, mine took 4 hrs. on low and another 2.5 on high. Great idea, but I'm not planning to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Do not cook this for 9 hours! I cooked it on low for 4 hours and it would have been fine being cooked for just 3 hours. I added diced Yukon Gold potatoes and two tablespoons of peach jam instead of the dried apricots and prunes. I also added fresh cilantro and parsley tossed in at the end rather than dried. I served with a curried rice pilaf and topped it with french fried onion pieces. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I did not cook it 9 hours and it was still overcooked and starting to get mushy. I didn't have any apricots (I added some preserves to try to get some flavor of it though) I thought it was pretty good side dish, easy, inexpensive easy to find ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I halved the amount of vegetables (used sweet potatoes as I didn't have turnips)but left everything else the same except I added salt. I also added some diced chuck steak. Only took 7 hours in my slow cooker. The result was delicious, a sort of Moroccan 'curry'. YUM. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Took some liberty with this recipe by leaving out the parsnips and turnips as per others' opinions and as I didn't have them on hand. Still delicious and I got raves for this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwendolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Being a vegetarian, I pretty much love all vegetables. And I am no stranger to Moroccan, Indian, or other spicy foods. But something about this combination of veggies and spices was FUNKY. I dare say it had sort of a "bile" flavor. I followed the directions very carefully too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trampoline

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was good! My bf enjoyed it, and my daughter picked at it - I think just because it was a bit spicy, she ate mostly cous cous. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States