Slow Cooker Root Vegetable Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
my girlfriend made this recipe last week and at first we enjoyed it but found it very difficult to eat with all the fibrous vegetables. we were exhausted after eating bowl and found it a tad too sweet As well. I should mention that we cooked it for eight hours and doubled the broth and spices as per the reviews. But what really made this recipe kick is when we decided to purée it. This brought out much more of the spices that are trapped inside the vegetables and made it easier to digest. All it needs is a piece of cornbread. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
i listened to the reviews of adding more spice to prevent blandness, but meh - this recipe really misses something. Its edible but I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Jane Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe to the T and it was NOT a crowd pleaser- It says something when I didn't even like it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Quite good and very adaptable. It is a great starting point for a tagine if you have lots of firm veggies to use up (I used parsnips, turnips, carrots, and spaghetti squash--any winter squash or potatoes would also be good). I cooked at 350F for an hour in the oven and it was perfect. I double the seasonings, as suggested by others. And I used sun dried tomatoes and raisins instead of apricots (I'm sure any dried fruit will be great). I also thought it could you a sprinkle of salt and a squeeze of lemon after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is a great base with which to get creative. I doubled the spices and the broth as suggested. Also added a sweet potato, dried cranberries and siracha sauce and some honey for kick and sweetness. I used the excess sauce from the slow cooker to make the cous cous. Rave reviews from a vegan and two carnivores. Although one did say it would be great with some steak in it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This is really quite tasty. I doubled all of the spices except for the cayenne, used a whole 28 oz box of vegetable broth, and cooked it on low for at least 9 hours. Hubby loved it so much that the changes have been added to my "custom version" so I don't have to remember what I did when it's time to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rach
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I carefully read reviews before making this recipe as I've never made anything like it before. I took some suggestions from other reviews and did a few other things differently. It came out quite good! I have a smaller crock pot so I ended up using 1/2 of a large parsnip, 4 large carrots, 2 large white sweet potatoes, 1 large white onion and added apricots, prunes and dates. For spices, I doubled the amount in the recipe and also added a hint of cardamom, fresh ginger (and a little of the ground) as well as a hint of curry powder. I used 2 vegetable boulion cubes and added water to about 1/2 inch above the mixture, (don't let the photo fool you-it's the before pic). I tossed all of the ingredients in a larger dish before cooking to ensure even flavor. After about 4 hours of stewing on low, this dish was extremely fragrant and tasty. I think with this recipe is very simple and versatile. I served it with white basmati rice-delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Great recipe. I didn't have the time to cook it in the crock pot so it went in the oven. I used raisens instead of the apricots and prunes. I had it for breakfast this morning. Better the next day! I will make this frequently and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States