Slow Cooker Root Vegetable Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I have lived in Morocco and this brought back the most wonderful memories of Moroccan food at its best! It's worth the extra time. My family has never tried the food since we don't live in an area that serves Moroccan food. They absolutely loved it. My finicky son asked that I cook it twice a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is tasty, easy and healthy. I used the reviewer's suggestions to double the spices (except the cinnamon) and I tripled the fruit. It could be made super fabulous with a little extra work, though. Next time I will use fresh ginger, saute it in some good olive oil and then add the spices for about 5 minutes so the flavors really develop. I will also roast the root veggies with the onions in the oven so they get good flavor as well. In addition I would use fresh cilantro and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I read the reviews carefully before i made this. In addition to doubling the spices, the dried fruits and the liquid, I used white yams instead of using turnips, which added another sweet vegetable. I also reduced cooking time ti 6.5 hours on low and toasted a mix of regular and buckwheat couscous to go with it. The other addition that I recommend (suggested by a friend who ate this dish and also spent time in Morocco) is hot sauce to taste, which can be added once the dish is served. A day later, the leftovers tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gibbletca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this for dinner earlier this week. As per recommendation I increased the liquid and double the seasoning amounts. I made the broth in 3:1 proportion, but 2.5 or 2:1 would probably work better next time. I didn't have turnips but did have sweet potatoes, so I used one large sweet potato and about 1/2 to 3/4 lb carrots and parsnips. I didn't have dried apricots, but had raisins instead so I did that with the prunes. For time constraints I cooked it on high for 3 and a half hours. Turned out great and I'd definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
my friends & i loved this! we had a non-traditional thanksgiving this year & this was an excellent side dish. i kept stirring about every 45 minutes to evenly coat all the spices (which i doubled) & noticed it was ready after just 4.5 hours, so i turned it to 'warm' for the remaining 3 hours i'd allocated. next time, i will add more fruit, but not much. it is excellent served over toasted couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I really liked this, but agree with some other comments: add more stock and spices and apricots. but i found the cooking time alright, and enjoyed the taste thoroughly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Super Easy Amazingly Good A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Great recipe. I didn't have the time to cook it in the crock pot so it went in the oven. I used raisens instead of the apricots and prunes. I had it for breakfast this morning. Better the next day! I will make this frequently and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
my girlfriend made this recipe last week and at first we enjoyed it but found it very difficult to eat with all the fibrous vegetables. we were exhausted after eating bowl and found it a tad too sweet As well. I should mention that we cooked it for eight hours and doubled the broth and spices as per the reviews. But what really made this recipe kick is when we decided to purée it. This brought out much more of the spices that are trapped inside the vegetables and made it easier to digest. All it needs is a piece of cornbread. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Quite good and very adaptable. It is a great starting point for a tagine if you have lots of firm veggies to use up (I used parsnips, turnips, carrots, and spaghetti squash--any winter squash or potatoes would also be good). I cooked at 350F for an hour in the oven and it was perfect. I double the seasonings, as suggested by others. And I used sun dried tomatoes and raisins instead of apricots (I'm sure any dried fruit will be great). I also thought it could you a sprinkle of salt and a squeeze of lemon after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States