Slow Cooker Root Vegetable Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I like Morocca food, but this recipe is a little disappointing. The concept behind this recipe is great; the excecution is not. First, it takes a lot longer than about 45 min-1hr to peel and dice so many tubers, not 1/2 an hour. Second, 9 hours is so long that the vegetables get overcooked. Third, there's so little broth that you run the risk of eating steamed vegetables rather than stewed ones. For the amount of vegetables, there's not enough spice, so it comes out rather bland. My suggestions: less cooking time by an hour or two, double the spice and the broth (or mix in a second set of spices after you finish cooking), use only 3/4 lbs of each tuber and increase the amount of dried fruit. I suppose suggesting using chicken broth or adding meat would be a travesty, but it would help make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Usually, I relly enjoy Moroccan food... but this was not good! I think it was the combination of the fragrant turnips and parsnips with all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
A great change of pace from our usual veggie meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Good as main dish or as side dish... Highly adaptable as a 'base' to add cooked beef, lamb or chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I have lived in Morocco and this brought back the most wonderful memories of Moroccan food at its best! It's worth the extra time. My family has never tried the food since we don't live in an area that serves Moroccan food. They absolutely loved it. My finicky son asked that I cook it twice a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
my friends & i loved this! we had a non-traditional thanksgiving this year & this was an excellent side dish. i kept stirring about every 45 minutes to evenly coat all the spices (which i doubled) & noticed it was ready after just 4.5 hours, so i turned it to 'warm' for the remaining 3 hours i'd allocated. next time, i will add more fruit, but not much. it is excellent served over toasted couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was good. I cooked it slowly on the stovetop, not in a slow cooker. I omitted the prunes (I didn't have any) and substitited some raisins. I needed to add about twice the stock. I also added boneless chicken breast pieces and made kind of a stew of it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori VE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I really liked this, but agree with some other comments: add more stock and spices and apricots. but i found the cooking time alright, and enjoyed the taste thoroughly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This needed salt, and could have used a lot more dried apricots and prunes. I added a few more of each and wish i had tripled or quadrupled the fruit. you couldn't taste it in the finished product. But the flavorings and seasoning was terrific. Served it with couscous that I toasted in a dry skillet first. Gave it a nice nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
deeeelicious! I followed the recipe fairly true to form, except substituted a scant teaspoon of harisa for the cayenne. The only drawback was that the parsnips and turnips didn't fare so well as leftovers; the texture got a bit too sloppy for my liking. Otherwise a hearty and divine meal, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States