Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Since I had a sirloin tip roast that certainly wouldn't need 22 hours in the slow cooker, I only cooked it about 7-1/2 hours and it was done perfectly. I set the roast on a bed of cremini mushrooms, used beefy onion soup mix, since that's what I had in the pantry, only 2 T. of soy sauce to avoid this being too salty, a bay leaf, and just a mere cup of water. The house smelled wonderful and the roast was delicious and flavorful with a rich au jus. We're looking forward to having the leftovers as French Dip sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
908 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was really good. I made a few changes though. I used low sodium soy sauce and dry onion mushroom soup mix and it was not salty at all. The beef does not need to be in the slow cook for 22 hours. That is way too long. I put mine on high in the slow cooker and it was done in about 4-5 hours and was really tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
605 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
My husband made this, so you know it is darn easy! Cooked on low 8 hours the first day, put in the fridge overnight, lifted off the fat in the morning (my trick!) and then put it back on low for 8 more hours with quartered red potatoes, carrots and onions added in. Very juicy and flavorful. We always use low sodium soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
524 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Put a 3lb roast in at 7am, put in carrots and potatoes at 1pm, and ate at 6pm. It was perfect! Used low sodium soy. Will do this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
383 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
Thanks so much for this recipe, Tracy! I had my in-laws over for this the first time I made it. It was the best roast we've ever had. What "made" the roast was the juice it simmers in and it makes the absolute BEST gravy for hot roast beef sandwiches the next day. I used about 4 large tbsp. of corn strach mixed with water to give the juice it's gravy consistency before serving. You can't find better tasting rost beef gravy than this at any restaurant!! I will make this time and time again. Very impressive. Who would know it is SOOOO easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This did not take 22 hours, it took about 8 on low. It was very tender. I used low sodium soy sauce and a can of low sodium beef broth with a cup of water. I added a bay leaf and fresh portabella mushrooms. It smelled great and tasted even better. Very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Fantastic! The beef was sooo soft and delicious! It just took 12 hours in my Rival oval slow cooker. I will definitely try this recipe again but with modifications. My roast was way too salty for me, so I'm going to try to cut back on the onion soup mix and soy sauce. I added 1 1/2 to 2 cups more water to make the juice less salty. To thicken it, I added instant mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This was one of the best pot roasts I have ever eaten. The salt content is perfect, it is juicy, flavorful, and tender. I added some cornstarch to thicken the remaining juices for gravy and it was a perfect dinner. There is nothing better than a fix it and forget it dinner and this qualifies. Only change I would make is next time I will add some carrots and potatoes in the morning before going to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This was great. So simple to prepare. I added some freshly crushed garlic and used low sodium soy sauce. I served this to a family of picky eaters and there were no leftovers! It was falling apart tender and had perfect texture, not mushy at all. Like others, I didn't cook this on low for the full 22 hours. I cooked it on high for 6 hours then turned it to low for the last 2. Thanks! This was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palos Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I thought this roast turned out delicious! My husband said it was the best I've ever made. I only cooked it for about 16 hours. I also added potatoes, onions, and carrots for the last 8 hours. Tasted great and made great gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States