Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I reduced the amount of soy sauce and it was still overwhelmingly salty. My husband liked it, but it definitely needed low-sodium ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Amazing!! The roast cooked to tender perfection in my slow cooker for about 20 hours. I also added carrots,celery, and onion. I thickened the sauce with some cornstarch and served the roast and veges over garlic mashed potatoes. Comfort food at it's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
DELICIOUS! Very, Very tasty. A really good meal for company. Did not cook for 22 hours, instead cooked on slow for 8-9 hours and then refrigerated overnight. Removed fat in morning and then cooked for another 2 to 3 hours and served on open face hoagy buns. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
We absolutely loved this recipe! The meat just melted in your mouth. We had leftovers, and even those tasted great! We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This was a hit! Put in clow cooker at 7 am on high,cooked until 430, done. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I shall have to agree that this was too salty for my taste so I tried it again with a few mods: omitted the soy sauce, kept the rest of the recipe, added 1 tbs of Hickory liquid smoke and 2 tbs of Worcestershire sauce. My 2nd roast was done and fork tender in 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenGhoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I used low-sodium soy sauce and I just didn't like that flavor in the broth. I cooked it in the slow cooker on high for about 6 hours, then low for 3 or 4 more hours. Meat was tender and fell apart, but I just wasn't crazy about the soy sauce after taste. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Hate when people rate a recipe even though they changed everything about it. Made exactly as directed and was awesome. Do you need to cook a roast for 22 hours? obviously not. Can you give it a chance? Yup. Was not dry, was incredibly excellent and worked out perfect b/c I wanted something i could start in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
used homemade "dried onion soup mix" (google it) cuz all the ones i saw in the store had MSG. used just 1 tbs soy sauce (you can add more at the end if necessary...it isn't necessary). low for 8hrs worked for me. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I finally tried this recipe. I was very leary of making it because of all the comments posted. I have to say that the 22 hour cook time threw me off too. I'm new to slow cooker meals, although I love to cook. I mostly use my crock pot for dips. I always make a new recipe exactly as the recipe states, you can always add your own spin the next time. With that said, I fell into the "change it" category, thinking all of these people can't be wrong. I used low sodium soy sauce & added potatoes, carrots, garlic, ect. I also changed the cook time to 8 hours on low (guess my slow cooker isn't that slow). With all that said, I wish I had followed the original recipe.. I happen to like saltier food & I think the veggies may have changed the outcome of the recipe. I would still change the cooking time. It did turn out really good, but shame on me for falling into that "change everything category". If you make it, make it the way it is written, is my advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States