Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Hollie1228
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! I will definitely make this again. I cooked the roast for 10 hrs on LOW, added carrots half way through & it was perfect. I used 6 TBSP of corn starch mixed with cold water to make the gravy. That was the best gravy I've had in a long time. I served the roast/carrots with mashed potatoes, green beans & corn and fed 6 people, plus had 1 plate leftover for a guest to take home. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This recipe works well for venison or wild game roasts as well, since slow-cooking helps to keep them from drying out. We did find the soy sauce addition to be too salty for use in gravy. Topping with Montreal steak seasoning added even more flavor. A big hit for family dinner. MominLaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Good and easy. Followed other reviewers suggestion to use lite soy. Cooked it for only 10 hrs and it fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I have been cooking pot roasts for years just about every way imaginable with all different kinds of ingredients. I almost didn't try this because it's SO EASY...how could one ingredient (has to be the soy sauce...I've done pot roast with soup mix before) make such a difference? Well all, this was the most flavorful, the most delicious pot roast I've made in a long, long time and I doubt I'll ever make it any other way again. This satisfied all my requirements -- easy, delicious and melt in your mouth tender. I used a 3+ pound chuck roast. I followed the recipe exactly (except for the cooking time). I mixed the soy sauce and 1 package of Beefy Onion soup mix together in the measuring cup (easier than doing it in the slow cooker) and poured it in. Then placed the roast on top of it and added fresh ground pepper on top. Then poured in some water until just the top of the roast was uncovered. Set it for 6 hours on high and went and ran some errands. When I came back about 4 hours later, I turned it to low and let it go for about another 2 hours and the last hour turned it to high again. So, it was a total of close to 8 hours I believe. I don't know if the "22 hours" was a typo...maybe 12 hours?...there is no way it has to be even close to 22 hours. All I know is that the 8 hours I had it cooking was perfect. Was fall apart tender. I let it sit for about 20 min. before cutting and serving. Was so, so, SO good!!!! We didn't find it salty in the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was so easy and so good. I followed the instructions and mixed the soy sauce and onion soup mix added the roast and water. I made this Saturday afternoon and let it cook about six hours and put it in the fridge. In the morning I removed the fat on top and put it back on. I added all the veggies and a little water. When I came home from church I used the liquid and made gravy. It was very tasty and tender. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I used Lite soy sauce and dry onion soup mix and it was way too salty for us, and I don't think it needs to cook anywhere near 22 hrs. I tried as written though, and would probably try again only using less soy sauce with a little more water, and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is really delicious, but I think 22 hours is way too long. I'm thinking 10-12 hours, and the meat is falling apart at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Very good! Falls apart with moistness. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe. I thought 22 hours was a little odd, however, it just kept getting more tender and juicy. It was ready in about 8 hours, but it was even better at 22 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Very good, but 22 hours is a typo. 12 hours on low would be more than enough time for this recipe. Also, use low sodium soy sauce and it won't come out too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States