Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Like most who went before me said, "22 hours is way too long"! I thought I'd put it in for 8 hours and check on it around 6. My mistake.....it was already well done. Lesson learned. Check on it often and assume it will cook MUCH faster then you think. Having said that, I will try it again sometime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Gotta say - this is the best and easiest pot roast I've ever made! I have to admit I was a bit skeptical but the meat was so tender and flavorful. The gravy was excellent! 8 hours made my 5 lb chuck roast perfectly. Everyone raved about it. This one is a keeper! Thanks for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
So good and juicy, with lots of gravy! The only slow cooker roast beef I will be using from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I made this for dinner and it was AWESOME! I followed others and did the low sodium soy sauce. It was prefect. Not to salty and full of flavor. l am going to use the juice in a soup. It was easy to prepare and I will do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
excellent over rice or mashed pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I try to make recipes as written before I mess with them too much, so I DID cook this sucker for 22 hours. It was ghastly. The meat was bone dry and tasted kind of like liver, and the sauce was so reduced that it was nearly too salty to eat. I could tell there was a change in the smell from delicious to livery at about 10 hours, so I think others' estimates of 8 hours sounds reasonable. I may try this again in the future with the much less ludicrous cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have tried for years to find the perfect roast recipe that isn't to dry or dull. This one is it! Don't cook it for less time and I used low-sodium soy to make it less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I Love this recipe! Great meal for the fall and winter months. I also used low sodium soy sauce. I have cooked for 22 hrs and 8-10 hrs. It is very versatile that way. Add some carrots, potatoes and peas for a great meal. Leftovers make wonderful tacos, burritos! Best gravy ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Just okay. The onion packet was a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was wonderful! It'd be 5 stars but I did not follow this recipe to the T. 22 hours!? Usually my pot roast is done in 7-8! I also only put 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. LOVE that the soy sauce gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States