Slow Cooker Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Really good and much easier than traditional risotto. I would cut the salt in half - was a touch too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Mine turned out kind of gloppy too; cooked for 2hrs using arborio rice. It was still tasty, used fresh made turkey broth. I'll try again though and next time cut back on the broth by 1/4-1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I am not really happy with this one. I wound up with a cross between mashed potatoea and grits. The arborio rice all but melted into a sticky, but tasty, blob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made it exactly as the recipe said the first time except for my mistake in adding ingredients at the wrong time. I've never made risotto before and despite my mistake in adding all the ingredients at the beginning this was still amazing. DELICIOUS! As good as restaurant risotto! 4 cloves of garlic is a powerful garlic flavor so next time I'll cut back to perhaps 2 cloves and add my favorite spice- ground rosemary. This is well on it's way to becoming a favorite dish of mine. The texture is so lovely. I would NEVER try to make this with anything other than Arborio rice after reading other risotto reviews of horror at using the incorrect rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I love this recipe, it worked great even with a couple little tweaks to make it vegan. I had roasted shallots on hand so I used those instead of the onion flakes. It would be easy to vary this with different herbs, etc. I have always avoided making risotto but now we can have it anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheez_wiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSIVESIND

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Maybe there is something wrong with my slow cooker, but the rice was overdone while I was waiting for the garlic to soften up and mellow. The garlic was too sharp and assertive for me; if I were going to do this recipe again, I would use garlic powder or saute the garlic until it was softened. However, it smelled great and the rice got very creamy (I may have overcooked it). I'm not a risotto expert so I'll need to try making it the old school way on top of the stove. But this is so frickin' easy, I may never make rice on the stovetop again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Saw this recipe and seriously though this was too good to be true. Had never made risotto before as I know what a laborious process it is. This produced really great flavorful risotto. I did have to babysit it just a bit. At the 1:15 mark, I checked on it and saw that it looked too dry. It needed more chicken broth. My risotto was done after 1:30. That being said, it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieJo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Easy & delicious! I added some frozen peas & used jarred minced garlic. I didn't have onion flakes but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tdiland1
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I must say...I was extremely skeptical when first reading this recipe. I did not think risotto could be this easy and this good...but it turned out absolutely delicious! I used low sodium chicken broth to keep it a little healthier and it was still amazing. I also used Asiago cheese instead of Parmesean just because thats what I had on hand. Thank you for such a scrumptious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tdiland1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States