Slow Cooker Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
This recipe is great with a few changes. I added cooked chicken breasted that's shredded and crumbled bacon. I've discovered that you have to add more chicken broth toward the end of cooking so it cooks better and stays moist without burning or drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.J.~CSI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
For being a recipe in a slow cooker this is really good. Is it as god as the slow stove method, probably not but it's a great side dish for busy days. Toss everything in and forget about it. 5 stars for being family friendly and easy to make. This will be on dinner rotation going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This is such a low fuss method for making risotto. I didn’t have any dried onion so I just added a little chopped onion. Next time I wouldn’t cook it as long but it was still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I love risotto and was excited about trying this one since it was in the slow cooker. I was not expecting it to have the same creamy texture as one cooked on the stove top, but, was still intrigued to give it a try. The plus side was that the flavor was wonderful! You could taste a perfect blend of garlic, white wine, & parmesan cheese. I would give the flavor five stars. The downside for us was the texture. We did not care for the texture at all. I kept checking it to be sure it did not overcook. It seemed to be the perfect texture, but, had not absorbed the liquid and was still runny. I cooked until the liquid was just absorbed - about 2 hours. The rice was very mushy. It was so mushy it seemed more like mashed potatoes. I would rate the texture one star. Although the flavor was a big hit, I don't plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Diana Mc
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
It was good and easy to make. I used homemade chicken broth which gave it an extra richness. I think the cooking time is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Linda T
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
This was delicious. Mine was a bit overcooked. I would suggest checking it prior to the 2 hours to see if this is done. I am sure the cooking time varies a bit depending upon your device
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Tasty! Mine was done at 1.5 hours, so I turned off the slow cooker and stirred in the Parmesan and an extra splash of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Knowing how much stirring I am saving myself by using this recipe, makes it revolutionary! not sure I will ever make risotto the old way again. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixie68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Too much olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly using my 3 quart slow-cooker, cooking for 2 hours, but my risotto was mushy instead of being al dente. The flavor was good. Maybe my 20-year-old slow-cooker is a little off. Will try again in my newer 6 quart slow-cooker and watch it towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States