Slow Cooker Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
comes out perfect!!! I let my cook with some mushrooms and asparagus and my boyfriend loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I used Lipton's Onion Soup and omitted the onion, since the soup already has onion in it. I omitted the salt, and just added a dash to season to my taste while eating, as I don't like a lot of salt in my food. Everything else same as recipe calls for. It was cooked in about 2 hours. It was delicious! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I make risotto all the time and this looked like a good way to avoid all that stirring. But I basically got library paste. It would probably have been perfect 20 or 25 minutes earlier, which may be a function of my slow cooker. I'd advise checking in the last half hour. Also, following the advice of another reviewer, I used less liquid than in the recipe (20% less, roughly), and that amount was plenty. If I shorten the cooking time, though, that may have to be adjusted as well. So a good idea in general, but may require some tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Perfect as written! This has become one of my family's favorite dishes. I'm always looking for things to pair it with; my favorites so far are Parmesan Meatloaf and Italian Meatballs. Don't let it overcook -- it gets too mushy and sticky right after about 2 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Super easy. Super delicious! I will definitely make it again, but double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Big fan. Mine was ready in 2 1/2 hours (total) in a 3qt and it had a bit of a bite which is the texture risotto is supposed to have. I really like this as an alternative to traditionally done risotto. Great flavours. Thanks Lady7Fire. This is a keeper and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I really didn't think my slow cooker would make good risotto, but color me impressed! I made 1/2 the recipe in a 2 quart cooker using fresh minced onions. Otherwise, I made it as written. At 1 hour, I gave it a quick stir, which likely wasn't necessary. At 1:45, it was ready. Sadly, the fish wasn't. 15 minutes and more chicken broth later, it was still a little thick, but I'm blaming myself. Aside from my timing issues, this made very good risotto, with flavors that were spot-on. It works better than my new Breville risotto maker, which I'll be returning tomorrow. This recipe saved me $130! Thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe 3-4 times and it has come out great every time, perfect risotto and easy to make. I use a large oval slow cooker and it doesn't come close to filling it, but still comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jj
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Great recipe! Thank you for sharing. I added a can of tomato to my stock mix and it came out beautifully! Tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I tried this tonight in my slow cooker and followed the recipe exactly. I thought it turned out okay, but nothing to write home about. It ended up tasting exactly like a cream of chicken and laughing cow pasta I always make, it just cost more per serving and took a lot longer. I do think it tasted good, but my boyfriend wasn't impressed enough for me to make it again and I wasn't either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathrynbrkroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States