Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This recipe is great and very versatile. I've been making a version of this for years, only I use beef cut into stew-sized chunks. Also, I add some peanut butter to taste towards the end. There are many "authentic" Thai variations on red curry, including Panang beef curry. The Panang uses Panang curry paste (Frequently available right next to the tubs or cans of red curry) and peanut butter is part of that curry. Mussuman curry is another variant and it uses potatoes. While Thai beef curries typically don't stew the meat (usually sliced thin and added towards the end) my favorite Thai restaurant from about 25 years ago made their version with beef chunks that were stewed and that's how I've been making it for years. Experiment with any of the 3 red curry pastes: Red, Panang, or Mussuman, and change up the additions to suit your tastes and you can dial this recipe in to suit your exact tastes. Keep in mind that the pre-made curry pastes of any color are concentrated and typically very hot, so plan accordingly. Also, serving this with steamed jasmine rice and making a little extra sauce can really stretch this meal. One last thing, the fish sauce by itself smells and tastes terrible. But it adds a required (and wonderful) flavor to Thai curries and it mellows significantly when cooked. Just don't over do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Absolutely fabulous. TBH, some people shun Americanized "hybrid" dishes like this in favor of authentic ethnic entrees with established history and tradition behind them. I admit to having been one of those snobs, probably from having gone to one too many really bad Americanized Chinese restaurants (even one is too many). But this dish had me pleasantly surprised and has gone some way in reforming my antiquated mindset. I'd always wondered how the fantastic sweet and spicy flavor from the Thai curry coconut milk soup staples could translate to other dishes. Here is a well executed example by Chef John on how that happens, taking a dish as American as pot roast in a slow cooker and spicing it up with the all essential red curry and coconut milk ingredients signature to Thai. My only changes were to use the more nutritious protein based chickpeas (dry stock) that I added at the start of the slow cook instead of carbs like potatoes. As personal preference and higher tolerance I also tripled the amount of curry and used gluten free quinoa flour instead of cornstarch. I'm very pleased with how delicious it turned out. I'll be returning to this recipe again in the future. Thanks John, I'm very happy about being able to have this in my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arias Hung
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very flavorful! My son who ate a lot of Thai food loved it. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Maybe it's my slow cooker, but "cooking the potatoes in the slow cooker for about 12 minutes" was definitely not enough. Next time, I will cook it for at least an hour, or put it in a stock pot and cook it on the cooktop on a higher temperature. Can't wait to do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe almost to the letter except I did not have Rotel tomatoes on hand so I used a can of regular diced tomaotes, and I used a 1T of red curry paste. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I didn't cook the roast as long, maybe 5 hrs on low and the vegetables cooked for 45 mins to 1 hour on high. At the end I transferred the sauce to a stove top pot to reduce the sauce (my attempt to concentrate the sauce). That helped, but the sauce did not taste as rich and flavorful. My concern at the outset was the amount of liquid called for in a slow cooker recipe. Experience has taught me that less liquid is better for most slow cooker recipes. This recipe was no exception. The sauce had a fabulous flavor initially, but the extended cooking in the slow cooker made the sauce too watery and as a result flavor was lost. The next time I will try this recipe in the oven as I think the sauce won't break down as much, and the richness in flavor will not be sacrificed. I also think this sauce / gravy would pair well with chicken or fish. I would have given this recipe a higher mark, but for the loss in flavor due to too much liquid. I would reduce the chicken stock by at least 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this once before and it was just ok. Then I read the reviews and made some adjustments and it was sooooo good. I used a grass fed roast. I tripled the red curry paste (Thai kitchen brand), I added one jalapeño that had been seeded and sliced on top of onions. REDUCED THE CHICKEN STOCK TO JUST ONE CUP. Followed directions to cook in slow cooker on low for 7 he's. Added 2 sweet potatoes cut into 2" chunks for the last 45 min. OMIT THE BOK CHOY. It just gets too mushy. Cook it another way if you want. Remove the potatoes and strain the sauce into a saucepan. Bring to a boil. Mix 2 tbsp softened butter with 2 tbsp flour to form a paste. Whisk into sauce and simmer for a few minutes until it thickens. Voila!! Now it's a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Awesome recipe. I used a top shoulder roast and substituted chick peas for the potatoes. I also used 1 tsp ground ginger instead of fresh. Really tasty. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
The family I cook for are from India. I make this exactly as is except I use bones less skinless chicken breast. This is what they request when family and friends are invited. I personally love the beef but the chicken is great too. This is my favorite receipt of 2013.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Bartone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Very flavorful. I made it exactly like the recipe. I did not however, have enough potatoes and by happy accident used a sweet potato, which IMHO is much better! Next time I make this I will use more spices and definitely par-boil the potatoes. The white ones took about an hour, the sweet about 45 minutes in the slow cooker. The meat was tender, and there was a lot of fat to be skimmed off. I will definitely make this again..maybe try chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by voraciousgirl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Spectacular! I had beef cheeks that were just shy of 2lbs so I used just 1cup or chicken broth & a 14oz can of tomatoes. Also, 1tbs of red curry (from the video it looks like a tbs not a tsp.) Also, I added a kafir lime leaf. Per other reviewers, I added my potatoes to the last hour of cooking time then followed the recipe directions w/bok choy & cornstarch slurry. Incredible flavor & pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was so good. It was like a regular beef roast stew but with a mildly exotic spin. I used a lot of curry paste and it didn't even begin to strike me as hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States