Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was wonderful. I used 2 small venison roasts, which came out perfectly tender. (Sometimes venison roast dries out in the Crockpot, but this recipe worked very well.) I left out the brown sugar, used at least 2 tsp. red curry paste, full-fat coconut milk, and 2 tsp. cornstarch. I added the potatoes during the last couple hours of cooking. Next time, I may try what other reviewers suggested and thicken the sauce a bit on the stove. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is really good...I made it per the recipe and we were very happy with the spice level and crunch from the boo choy. My only complaint is that the curry was very runny and I was hoping for it to be a bit thicker. In any case, the recipe is very tasty! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Made a few minor changes - used chickpeas instead of potatoes, used only one cup of broth, skipped the tomato paste (had none), and added a spoonful of peanut butter at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This meal was an awesome mix of various palate pleasing flavors. This tops the list of any flavorful dishes I've ever made. I couldn't find Asian fish sauce so I subbed in Asian oyster sauce. I also could only find bok choy so I used a full size bunch and cut it up in 1" sections. The only thing I think it would have been even better with a little more curry. I used the 1 teaspoon and should have probably used at least 2 after the fact. Still all in all it came out wonderful and my wife and I enjoyed it. I will make it again and again with more curry of course. Hats off to Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsalex2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Ok what sold me on this recipe was Chef John's extremely entertaining video but this may be my favorite crock pot recipe yet. I agree wither other reviewers that the potatoes took more like an hour to cook and I used tiny white potatoes cut in half! I put the baby bok choy in closer to the end (maybe about 15 minutes?) as to not get super mushy. I also love spice so I tripled the amount of curry AND used panang curry paste because it's what I had on hand. I love the other reviewers idea of adding kaffir lime leaves. Trying that next time. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Cayucos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Thanks Chef John, this one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Love this recipe!! I used elk cut into cubes and browned instead of beef roast because that was what I had and skipped the cornstarch part. Very good flavors, all my kids, teenagers down to 1st graders, loved it. Another thumbs up for Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very flavorful and was more a beef stew and less a pot roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this for sunday lunch and it was a hit. the recipe had a very good balance of sweetness, spicy, sour and saltiness. i just adjusted the cumin to make up for the absence of coriander. I used fresh coconut milk instead of a canned milk. It really boosted the flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by voraciousgirl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Spectacular! I had beef cheeks that were just shy of 2lbs so I used just 1cup or chicken broth & a 14oz can of tomatoes. Also, 1tbs of red curry (from the video it looks like a tbs not a tsp.) Also, I added a kafir lime leaf. Per other reviewers, I added my potatoes to the last hour of cooking time then followed the recipe directions w/bok choy & cornstarch slurry. Incredible flavor & pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States