Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This meal was an awesome mix of various palate pleasing flavors. This tops the list of any flavorful dishes I've ever made. I couldn't find Asian fish sauce so I subbed in Asian oyster sauce. I also could only find bok choy so I used a full size bunch and cut it up in 1" sections. The only thing I think it would have been even better with a little more curry. I used the 1 teaspoon and should have probably used at least 2 after the fact. Still all in all it came out wonderful and my wife and I enjoyed it. I will make it again and again with more curry of course. Hats off to Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsalex2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Ok what sold me on this recipe was Chef John's extremely entertaining video but this may be my favorite crock pot recipe yet. I agree wither other reviewers that the potatoes took more like an hour to cook and I used tiny white potatoes cut in half! I put the baby bok choy in closer to the end (maybe about 15 minutes?) as to not get super mushy. I also love spice so I tripled the amount of curry AND used panang curry paste because it's what I had on hand. I love the other reviewers idea of adding kaffir lime leaves. Trying that next time. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Cayucos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Thanks Chef John, this one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Love this recipe!! I used elk cut into cubes and browned instead of beef roast because that was what I had and skipped the cornstarch part. Very good flavors, all my kids, teenagers down to 1st graders, loved it. Another thumbs up for Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very flavorful and was more a beef stew and less a pot roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this for sunday lunch and it was a hit. the recipe had a very good balance of sweetness, spicy, sour and saltiness. i just adjusted the cumin to make up for the absence of coriander. I used fresh coconut milk instead of a canned milk. It really boosted the flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by voraciousgirl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Spectacular! I had beef cheeks that were just shy of 2lbs so I used just 1cup or chicken broth & a 14oz can of tomatoes. Also, 1tbs of red curry (from the video it looks like a tbs not a tsp.) Also, I added a kafir lime leaf. Per other reviewers, I added my potatoes to the last hour of cooking time then followed the recipe directions w/bok choy & cornstarch slurry. Incredible flavor & pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I made this yesterday and everyone loved it. Made a few changes because I didn't have ingredients; first I used chicken soup base dissolved in 1/2 cup apple juice and mixed with 2 T of honey in place of the chicken stock and brown sugar. I omitted the bok choy. I also added 2 peeled, chopped sweet potatoes. I used 1 full tablespoon of red curry paste but found it wasn't "curry" enough for me so I added a tablespoon of curry powder. And I added about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 to 1/2 tsp cloves and 1 tablespoon of peanut butter. The potatoes thickened the sauce sufficiently so that I didn't have to use any cornstarch. I didn't chop the meat after cooking but I did shred it into bite sized chunks, which were wonderfully flavorful. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I loved it, and so did my husband and dinner guests. I did use green curry instead of red curry, but that is because I don't like too spicy of dishes and I love the sweetness of green curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this once before and it was just ok. Then I read the reviews and made some adjustments and it was sooooo good. I used a grass fed roast. I tripled the red curry paste (Thai kitchen brand), I added one jalapeño that had been seeded and sliced on top of onions. REDUCED THE CHICKEN STOCK TO JUST ONE CUP. Followed directions to cook in slow cooker on low for 7 he's. Added 2 sweet potatoes cut into 2" chunks for the last 45 min. OMIT THE BOK CHOY. It just gets too mushy. Cook it another way if you want. Remove the potatoes and strain the sauce into a saucepan. Bring to a boil. Mix 2 tbsp softened butter with 2 tbsp flour to form a paste. Whisk into sauce and simmer for a few minutes until it thickens. Voila!! Now it's a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States