Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very flavorful! My son who ate a lot of Thai food loved it. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Maybe it's my slow cooker, but "cooking the potatoes in the slow cooker for about 12 minutes" was definitely not enough. Next time, I will cook it for at least an hour, or put it in a stock pot and cook it on the cooktop on a higher temperature. Can't wait to do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I really enjoyed this dish. I followed the directions the first time I made it but it was a bit too spicy for my tastes. I used twice the coconut milk for the second night's leftovers and it was perfect. I had to cook the potatoes for two hours, not 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
We enjoyed this, although I made a few changes. I realized I didn't have Rotel at the last minute so I diced two plum tomatoes and minced a large jalapeño. I added the cilantro to the crock pot mixture rather than garnishing with it. Also, I didn't have peanuts so I ended up adding a small amount of peanut butter to the sauce mixture. Turned out quite well, served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This recipe is great and very versatile. I've been making a version of this for years, only I use beef cut into stew-sized chunks. Also, I add some peanut butter to taste towards the end. There are many "authentic" Thai variations on red curry, including Panang beef curry. The Panang uses Panang curry paste (Frequently available right next to the tubs or cans of red curry) and peanut butter is part of that curry. Mussuman curry is another variant and it uses potatoes. While Thai beef curries typically don't stew the meat (usually sliced thin and added towards the end) my favorite Thai restaurant from about 25 years ago made their version with beef chunks that were stewed and that's how I've been making it for years. Experiment with any of the 3 red curry pastes: Red, Panang, or Mussuman, and change up the additions to suit your tastes and you can dial this recipe in to suit your exact tastes. Keep in mind that the pre-made curry pastes of any color are concentrated and typically very hot, so plan accordingly. Also, serving this with steamed jasmine rice and making a little extra sauce can really stretch this meal. One last thing, the fish sauce by itself smells and tastes terrible. But it adds a required (and wonderful) flavor to Thai curries and it mellows significantly when cooked. Just don't over do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Absolutely fabulous. TBH, some people shun Americanized "hybrid" dishes like this in favor of authentic ethnic entrees with established history and tradition behind them. I admit to having been one of those snobs, probably from having gone to one too many really bad Americanized Chinese restaurants (even one is too many). But this dish had me pleasantly surprised and has gone some way in reforming my antiquated mindset. I'd always wondered how the fantastic sweet and spicy flavor from the Thai curry coconut milk soup staples could translate to other dishes. Here is a well executed example by Chef John on how that happens, taking a dish as American as pot roast in a slow cooker and spicing it up with the all essential red curry and coconut milk ingredients signature to Thai. My only changes were to use the more nutritious protein based chickpeas (dry stock) that I added at the start of the slow cook instead of carbs like potatoes. As personal preference and higher tolerance I also tripled the amount of curry and used gluten free quinoa flour instead of cornstarch. I'm very pleased with how delicious it turned out. I'll be returning to this recipe again in the future. Thanks John, I'm very happy about being able to have this in my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was so good. It was like a regular beef roast stew but with a mildly exotic spin. I used a lot of curry paste and it didn't even begin to strike me as hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
The family I cook for are from India. I make this exactly as is except I use bones less skinless chicken breast. This is what they request when family and friends are invited. I personally love the beef but the chicken is great too. This is my favorite receipt of 2013.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Bartone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I have made this type recipe for years like one other reviewer, but I learned to make it using sweet potatoes instead of white potatoes, and I have to admit that the sweets are still my favorite but the whites were very good. Oh,and I'm going to try the garbanzo beans next time, because that sounds yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Reubens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Very flavorful. I made it exactly like the recipe. I did not however, have enough potatoes and by happy accident used a sweet potato, which IMHO is much better! Next time I make this I will use more spices and definitely par-boil the potatoes. The white ones took about an hour, the sweet about 45 minutes in the slow cooker. The meat was tender, and there was a lot of fat to be skimmed off. I will definitely make this again..maybe try chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Easy and delicious. I could not get good Bok Choy and substituted Kale instead. I only used the leaves and it still turned out fabulous. It was a hit with my family and I served it with crusty French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States