Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This was delicious. I didn't have potatoes or the bok choy so I added mushrooms. When it was done cooking and after I thickened the sauce, I added cubed butternut squash that I previously roasted and chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Loved it!! This is going to be one of my favourite slow cooker recipes. I only want to figure out how to get more of the fat out before the final warmup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The potatoes definitely require more cooking. I felt that the result was more of a stew and, by the time it had cooked for so long, the flavors were indistinguishable and thus not worth all the trouble - to me, part of slow cooking is ease of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was wonderful. I used 2 small venison roasts, which came out perfectly tender. (Sometimes venison roast dries out in the Crockpot, but this recipe worked very well.) I left out the brown sugar, used at least 2 tsp. red curry paste, full-fat coconut milk, and 2 tsp. cornstarch. I added the potatoes during the last couple hours of cooking. Next time, I may try what other reviewers suggested and thicken the sauce a bit on the stove. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is really good...I made it per the recipe and we were very happy with the spice level and crunch from the boo choy. My only complaint is that the curry was very runny and I was hoping for it to be a bit thicker. In any case, the recipe is very tasty! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Made a few minor changes - used chickpeas instead of potatoes, used only one cup of broth, skipped the tomato paste (had none), and added a spoonful of peanut butter at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This meal was an awesome mix of various palate pleasing flavors. This tops the list of any flavorful dishes I've ever made. I couldn't find Asian fish sauce so I subbed in Asian oyster sauce. I also could only find bok choy so I used a full size bunch and cut it up in 1" sections. The only thing I think it would have been even better with a little more curry. I used the 1 teaspoon and should have probably used at least 2 after the fact. Still all in all it came out wonderful and my wife and I enjoyed it. I will make it again and again with more curry of course. Hats off to Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsalex2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Ok what sold me on this recipe was Chef John's extremely entertaining video but this may be my favorite crock pot recipe yet. I agree wither other reviewers that the potatoes took more like an hour to cook and I used tiny white potatoes cut in half! I put the baby bok choy in closer to the end (maybe about 15 minutes?) as to not get super mushy. I also love spice so I tripled the amount of curry AND used panang curry paste because it's what I had on hand. I love the other reviewers idea of adding kaffir lime leaves. Trying that next time. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Cayucos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Thanks Chef John, this one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Love this recipe!! I used elk cut into cubes and browned instead of beef roast because that was what I had and skipped the cornstarch part. Very good flavors, all my kids, teenagers down to 1st graders, loved it. Another thumbs up for Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States