Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very flavorful and was more a beef stew and less a pot roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this for sunday lunch and it was a hit. the recipe had a very good balance of sweetness, spicy, sour and saltiness. i just adjusted the cumin to make up for the absence of coriander. I used fresh coconut milk instead of a canned milk. It really boosted the flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by voraciousgirl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Spectacular! I had beef cheeks that were just shy of 2lbs so I used just 1cup or chicken broth & a 14oz can of tomatoes. Also, 1tbs of red curry (from the video it looks like a tbs not a tsp.) Also, I added a kafir lime leaf. Per other reviewers, I added my potatoes to the last hour of cooking time then followed the recipe directions w/bok choy & cornstarch slurry. Incredible flavor & pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I made this yesterday and everyone loved it. Made a few changes because I didn't have ingredients; first I used chicken soup base dissolved in 1/2 cup apple juice and mixed with 2 T of honey in place of the chicken stock and brown sugar. I omitted the bok choy. I also added 2 peeled, chopped sweet potatoes. I used 1 full tablespoon of red curry paste but found it wasn't "curry" enough for me so I added a tablespoon of curry powder. And I added about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 to 1/2 tsp cloves and 1 tablespoon of peanut butter. The potatoes thickened the sauce sufficiently so that I didn't have to use any cornstarch. I didn't chop the meat after cooking but I did shred it into bite sized chunks, which were wonderfully flavorful. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I loved it, and so did my husband and dinner guests. I did use green curry instead of red curry, but that is because I don't like too spicy of dishes and I love the sweetness of green curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this once before and it was just ok. Then I read the reviews and made some adjustments and it was sooooo good. I used a grass fed roast. I tripled the red curry paste (Thai kitchen brand), I added one jalapeño that had been seeded and sliced on top of onions. REDUCED THE CHICKEN STOCK TO JUST ONE CUP. Followed directions to cook in slow cooker on low for 7 he's. Added 2 sweet potatoes cut into 2" chunks for the last 45 min. OMIT THE BOK CHOY. It just gets too mushy. Cook it another way if you want. Remove the potatoes and strain the sauce into a saucepan. Bring to a boil. Mix 2 tbsp softened butter with 2 tbsp flour to form a paste. Whisk into sauce and simmer for a few minutes until it thickens. Voila!! Now it's a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I love this dish!!! I did make it more like a Thai coconut milk curry soup which we love. I make a green chicken coconut curry soup so I loved finding half this red curry paste with beef recipe. I used about 1.75-2 pounds of beef (more soup consistency), sweet potatoes instead white potatoes, and kale instead of bok choy. The potato and greens changes were mostly personal taste reasons but I believe were delicious changes. If you like sweet, creamy dishes with a serious kick you really need to try this dish. It's a new dish in our recipe rotation. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I made this with a pork shank since it was on sale, it was delicious! My boyfriend said it was the best thing I've ever made! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Not as hot as we expected but still a great combination of flavors with no single flavor shining through above the others. We will make this again but will add more curry and more ginger. What a great way to add new life to a pot roast. Chef John- Thanks for sharing another amazing culinary idea! The video was very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I used chuck steak. Agree it is too thin. We love the flavor and tenderness of the meat. Will make again using less liquid, add sweet potato (used no potato today) and will use spinach. Again, Loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States