Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Not as hot as we expected but still a great combination of flavors with no single flavor shining through above the others. We will make this again but will add more curry and more ginger. What a great way to add new life to a pot roast. Chef John- Thanks for sharing another amazing culinary idea! The video was very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I used chuck steak. Agree it is too thin. We love the flavor and tenderness of the meat. Will make again using less liquid, add sweet potato (used no potato today) and will use spinach. Again, Loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Tasty goodness. Our crock pot is a bit temperamental, so I steamed the bok choy and potatoes separately for 15 minutes, and then added them during the last 15 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Tried this recipe on Sunday and we really did enjoy it. There seemed to be too many ingredients but well worth the time it took. I used beef chunks because that is what I was able to find. This eliminated the need to break up the beef at the end. This was my first time cooking or eating baby Bok Choy, we thought it was tasty, but think I will add fresh spinach next time. We prefer our food spicy so I doubled the red curry paste and then added a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper. The flavors meld together nicely. Will make again. it was spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Wow! I love Thai food, but this is my first time using red curry paste. I followed the directions almost exactly, except I used 1/2 of the lime when making the sauce and the rest at the end, to bring a bit of freshness to the dish. I also followed one of the suggestions and added about 1/2 cup of peanut butter towards the end (when I added the potatoes). The potatoes definitely took much longer than 12 minutes, I wound up cooking them for over an hour. It came out awesome! I'm definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe almost to the letter except I did not have Rotel tomatoes on hand so I used a can of regular diced tomaotes, and I used a 1T of red curry paste. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I didn't cook the roast as long, maybe 5 hrs on low and the vegetables cooked for 45 mins to 1 hour on high. At the end I transferred the sauce to a stove top pot to reduce the sauce (my attempt to concentrate the sauce). That helped, but the sauce did not taste as rich and flavorful. My concern at the outset was the amount of liquid called for in a slow cooker recipe. Experience has taught me that less liquid is better for most slow cooker recipes. This recipe was no exception. The sauce had a fabulous flavor initially, but the extended cooking in the slow cooker made the sauce too watery and as a result flavor was lost. The next time I will try this recipe in the oven as I think the sauce won't break down as much, and the richness in flavor will not be sacrificed. I also think this sauce / gravy would pair well with chicken or fish. I would have given this recipe a higher mark, but for the loss in flavor due to too much liquid. I would reduce the chicken stock by at least 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Awesome recipe. I used a top shoulder roast and substituted chick peas for the potatoes. I also used 1 tsp ground ginger instead of fresh. Really tasty. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AJ
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Excellent! I added potatoes the last 2 hours and tripled the red curry paste. The sauce was perfect until I might the line juice in, that's why I tripled the red curry paste because the lime juice over powered the sauce. I also used light coconut milk and served over brown rice. I thought the ginger root was going to be too much but it softened and the flavor was great after cooking was completed. Turned out excellent! My husband just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This recipe was absolutely delicious, and one that I will be making again! I followed almost as directed, leaving out only the coriander and lime juice because we didn't have them and substituting stew-sized meat for the roast and light coconut milk. Still, it was delicious, not too spicy, but full of rich, layered flavors. I'm back for more recipe suggestions from Chef John. I hope others are as tasty as this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very good. You would think all of the ingredients listed would result in a very exotic and strong flavor but my expectations were very disappointing. I would like to know how you can make this dish more savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States