Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
We made this last Sunday Morning. By mid day the house had a wonderful aroma and I couldn't help from tasting the sauce it cooked in the crock pot! We did find that only cooking the potatoes for 12 minutes was not nearly long enough. Maybe cutting them into smaller pieces or allowing for nearly an hour of cooking time would be better. We also couldn't get baby bok choy so we used a full big bok choy and loved the taste and texture it added. We're definitely keeping this recipe as a favorite and will make it again. Reading the other reviews, I liked the idea of using sweet potatoes, pork with chick peas or chicken would all be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Burgaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
We absolutely hated it it smelled terrible when it was in the skillet and tasted just as bad everything I've ever made from chef John has been wonderful and I was disappointed in this the ginger was overpowering and it just had a terrible taste so I definitely will delete this recipe but Chef John is still the best just not this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
We loved this! I used another reviewers suggestion and used a can of garbanzo beans instead of potatoes. I also used one head of regular bok choy chopped. Also, from another reviewer, I stirred in a tablespoon or two of peanut butter at the end. I used 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to thicken. My meat was so tender it pretty much shredded and this helped to "thicken" the sauce too. I made basmati rice and put it in the bowls and ladled the curry over the rice. The flavors were amazing! I wish I had a side of Naan to soak up the last drops of sauce in the bowl. By adding the beans and bok choy, this made a lot of food from one roast - which I am happy about because now we have delicious leftovers. I will definitely make this again and would not change a thing other than using beans instead of potatoes. We love cilantro so the fresh cilantro and chopped peanuts at the end were the icing on the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Kirtley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Well, it didn't quite turn out the way I thought it would. I thought it would be more of a curry sauce. It really ended up like a beef stew. I would follow other recommendations on these reviews and use only one cup of broth in the future. I did use more curry paste than recipe called for and I'm glad I did. I would next time pour off the liquid into a pan and then add the cornstarch, as my liquid never did thicken up. The flavor was amazing, but I was disappointed that the coconut milk was basically non-existent at the end. More of a broth-like consistency. I might wait next time and add the coconut milk to the broth in my pan when adding cornstarch to thicken up. But overall, very tasty!! Even my daughter who hates curry liked it. Really love the addition of the ginger. Do not omit that! Oh and I did not use bok choy but had a little green cabbage that I threw in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
This was fabulous! Even the curry hater liked it! I added more curry paste (used about 3 tsp for our tastes) and left out the bok choy (not well like by a few family members). My potatoes took a lot longer than 12 mins to cook. I thought that would be the case, so I planned for that. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jooniemoon
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
This was delicious. I wanted to share it with a few of my Thai friends and they do not eat beef so I used a pork loin roast. I followed the recipe as closely as I could. My slow cooker has 2 low settings and 2 high settings, I am unable to adjust the temperature easily so I parboiled and par steamed the potatoes and bokchoy prior to placing them in the broth. I added a little more curry paste and fish sauce than the recipe calls for ( because it says " or to taste "). The only thing I wished i would have done was buy a nice fresh baguette because the leftover broth in the serving bowl should not be ignored!! I did have a few frozen pieces of naan that I warmed up and they sufficed as a great transfer agent for the remaining broth. Plus, that made it extra fusiony, it was an American southern favorite with a Thai influence and Indian accoutrement!! Lol. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Prep time far from 15 minutes. Cook time for potatoes resulted in meal finished at 9pm. Needless to say, ate something else for dinner. Not a very pleasant experience, but taste ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALBERT H FINE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackson Hedrick
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
really good and challenging to a novice but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackson Hedrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Easy to follow and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Yum!! The only difference, I used green instead of red curry paste, only because that's what I had on hand. I imagine it would be just as fabulous with red curry. Really enjoyed it and it made a ton of food with a small roast. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States