Slow Cooker Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I'm a Texan and we love our chili HOT, so when I decided to try this recipe, I was skeptical that we would like it. I had leftover turkey and since the weatherman was predicting ice and snow, my family wanted chili. So I searched Allrecipes and found this one with the interesting pumpkin addition. I had never heard of putting pumpkin or sweet potatoes in chili. That sounded insane. But wanting to try something new, I tried this recipe using my leftover turkey chopped up, sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin, and added more heat with jalapenos, Cajun seasoning, and chipotle chili powder. I also added a bag of frozen chopped onions and peppers and fresh cilantro. OMG! It was delicious. I had to stop my boys from eating it after 3 bowls each. I served it with just tortilla chips, nothing more on top as some suggested. If you are skeptical, try this and add your own flair to it. I even had to give the homemaking teacher at my school the recipe after she tried it. She was amazed at the flavor of the sweet and spicy blend. This will definitely become part of my chili rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was so delicious and very well received on a Football Sunday. Didn't think the fresh pumpkin was going to be easy to deal with but it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Love this recipe. I use canned pumpkin pie filling instead of pumpkin chunks. I add a can of rotel as well as 1 cup of strong coffee! Yes coffee. Then I add white sugar on top of the brown ( same amount)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wurnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salter Path, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Just tried this tonight and despite husband and daughter not being enthusiastic when I said I was making turkey pumpkin chili, they ended up loving it (even my 12 year-old ). I used a few of the suggestions from other reviewers such as using canned pumpkin (2 cups), adding a chopped jalepeno pepper, and using white kidney/cannellini beans instead of black beans. I also added a 3rd can of beans as another review suggested, so I ened up using 1 can of chili beans and 2 cans of cannellini beans. Other than that, I kept everything the same, including the amount of spices (though I did add salt and pepper). My husband said he would have liked more spices, but I thought it was good as is. I might add more jalepenos next time for a little more heat. It was a big success and will be a part of our regular meal planning from now on. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is filling, easy, and fairly tasty. Like others I first sauteed the onion (and a few cloves of garlic) before browning the meat. Then I tossed everything into the crock pot, along with a sweet potato, and some salt and pepper, and cooked on high for about four hours. The final product was good but not as rich and full-bodied as I had hoped. A shake of cinnamon helped bring out the flavor. The kids almost all had doubles, and that counts for a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
When I saw this recipe and read the reviews, I couldn't wait to try it. I love pumpkin and I love chili, but they are not meant to be put together. It tasted like I dumped a pumpkin pie into my chili. Like some other reviewers, I used a can of pumpkin instead of fresh. Maybe that makes a difference, but I doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Awesome recipe! By far the best ever chili recipe and this will become my staple. I did a little tweaking. Here is what I did modified: 1 Chili seasoning packet, 3 pounds of ground turkey, cooked in olive oil, 4 table spoons of brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1 can of white northern beans to replace the black beans, 2 cans of diced tomatoes with zesty mild chilies, 1 can of Libby Pumpkin. Other than what I listed above, I used everything else such as the chili beans and pumpkin pie spice. Cooked it on high for 1 hour and then low for about 4-5 hours or until hot and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Great as a base recipe. I made several changes but just to tweak to my preferences. I cooked the onion & peppers in with the turkey & evoo prior to adding to crock pot. I also started the pumpkin first by adding water just to cover pumpkin chunks & set crock pot on high. Meanwhile, I cooked the turkey, onion, green pepper & seasonings (chili powder, s & p, Italian seasoning & nutmeg. Once that was cooked, I added the meat to the crock pot along with tomato sauce, crushed garlic & fresh blanched tomatoes. I also only added like a tbsp of Brown sugar (just to balance the acidity of the tomato sauce, not to sweeten). I then allowed that simmer together until pumpkin was tender then added the kidney beans, garbanzo beans & black (not chili beans). It continued to dinner on low until thickened. It came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Sweeter than I expected and not spicy, so add some more heat if you like it hot. Super delicious, eaten by my kids even! I substituted butternut squash for the pumpkin because at TJs they had pre-cubed squash, making the recipe super simple, only took about 5-10 minutes total hands on time. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I looked at several other pumpkin chili recipes and the ones that got 700 reviews. Every positive review had so many changes and this recipe seemed to reflect them. I made this Halloween night and it was sooo delicious. We followed the recipe as it was listed except for these changes: canned tomatoes with diced chiles, unseasoned black beans (all I had in the pantry), and no brown sugar (I just forgot). I had some extra canned pumpkin puree (about a cup) that I threw in (why not?) and an extra can of beans to stretch the recipe further. It was really delicious. The flavor was subtle, it was so hearty and good. We ate it with honey cornbread and sour cream. Utter perfection. We will be adding this to our chili rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States