Slow Cooker Pumpkin Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I have been making this since the fall began! This is the best pumpkin oatmeal that I have ever had! The reviews were great and I used 5 cups of water, 1 3/4 cups of the steal cut oatmeal. I did not add the brown sugar but will sprinkle it on top when I have it for breakfast. I will be making this all winter long! You have to try this recipe it is so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Made this recipe for a group and everyone loved it! I did put in a little less cinnamon and half as much brown sugar. When it finish cooking and I tasted it, I added the rest of the brown sugar. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was just "OK"...won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this last night and my family liked it. I did not find it to be too sweet or to spicy. I agree with the person that suggested adding salt. I cooked in the crockpot on warm overnight and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This oatmeal turned out less than exceptional. The only change I made was to cut the cinnamon in half, and use regular brown sugar in place of Splenda. At first this smelled so good while it was cooking, just like pumpkin pie. I checked on it after 3 hours and it seemed like all the pumpkin flavor had been cooked out of it. It was finished in 4 hours and I put it in a Tupperware bowl in the fridge to eat all week. I noticed it was VERY thick. In the morning I reheated it on the stove top and had to add about 1/2 cup of milk to make it the correct consistency. It was still lacking in flavor so I opened another can of pumpkin and stirred in an extra Tbsp to my portion & a tsp of cinnamon-sugar. I hate wasting ingredients, especially something pricey like organic, steel cut oats. This needs a lot of tweaking. Not sure if I'll try making it again after this batch is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Target didn't have steel-cut so I used 'old-fashioned' which I assume means rolled. Also, I'm poor so I didn't want to shell out for a different type of brown sugar than the regular stuff I already had. Turns out, both are necessary; I ended up with brown sugar soup in the morning, in part because of the functionality of the crockpot which is overly hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was delicious, although we completed omitted the sugar. We prefer to add our own to taste! Make sure you completely cover any area where the oats will touch with the spray, though - the places you miss will be glued to the cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is very good but I am Sooooo glad I read reviews first because there are so many needed changes. I did what one person stated and reduced the water to 5 Cups, increased the steel-cut oats to 1 3/4 cups and reduced the cooking time in the slow cooker to 4 hours on low. Also, it is very helpful to line your crock pot with a Reynolds brand liner especially made for crock pots. Very easy clean up!! The amount of spices are way too much so I added 1 Tablespoon of each the ground cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. This was good but you could even add a little less if you don't like it so strong on the spices. One last mention, I did not add any sugar while cooking. Would rather leave it for everyone in my family to add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
First, this makes a ton, so if you're the only one in your house who enjoys oatmeal (like me), I would recommend cutting the recipe in half. Secondly, I took the advice of the previous reviews and added 5 cups of water, as well as 1/2 a cup Splenda and 1 3/4 cup oatmeal. This turned out great. It is the perfect consistency, has a pleasing, not overpowering flavor and reheats well. Also, mine was done in 4 hours, not 6. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erae84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
My family didn't care for this at all. The spices were too strong, the oats too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States