Slow Cooker Pumpkin Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I'm sorry, but I didn't like this at all. I used 1/2 cup real sugar and cooked it on the warm setting overnight as a reviewer suggested and I ended up with something between mush and jello. I tried to fix it up with sugar and milk in my breakfast bowl but i just couldn't eat it. The good news is I used up my steel cut oats, so I don't have to find another way to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
First, and most important: do NOT use rolled oats. Those are the flat quick-to-cook oats (Quaker oats). Steel-cut/Scottish oats are the whole oat cut into pieces, and are about the size of couscous. Bob's Red Mill has great steel-cut oats, in your store's nutrition "health food" section. Second, the recipe stands as written. I tried some of the tweaks, but ended up adding more water/cinnamon/pie spice/sweetener. My only change the second round is using all Splenda (just trying to avoid sugar -- I prefer the brown sugar taste***) and a touch of salt. Crumble a few walnuts on top, maybe add a splash of cream or milk. *** Just realized that adding a tablespoon of molasses to the batch gives it the brown sugar flavor without the calories and threw it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Have tried quite a few slow cooker steel cut oats recipes and this is one of my favorites. I have a slow cooker that can be used on the stovetop for browning then put on the electric base for slow cooking. I mention this only because I think this type of cooker is even "slower". I used 1 3/4C of oats, 4C of water and 2C of unsweetened cashew milk and cooked for almost seven hours and the consistency was relatively-thin. Which is okay with me since it tends to thicken up while in the fridge. Very good flavor. Threw in some golden raisins and smashed almonds when I dished-it-up. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Loved the pumpkin flavor! I followed the recipe except that I used regular brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I found this recipe yesterday evening; so I threw it together and literally dreamed about it last night! Sadly, I too should have read the reviews before I made it. 1: regular brown sugar was fine. perhaps a little sweet, but I love that flavor. 2: I don't have pumpkin pie spice, so I used 1 tsp each of the following: cinnamon, allspice, cloves and ginger. It is very tasty, but... ditto on the 'I love that flavor.' 3: I should have made it during the day, as it was pretty crunchy and toasty on the bottom. 4: Should have used about 1/2 cup less water. Overall, I would probably try this again with the lessons learned. Still a yummy treat this a.m.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I have been making this since the fall began! This is the best pumpkin oatmeal that I have ever had! The reviews were great and I used 5 cups of water, 1 3/4 cups of the steal cut oatmeal. I did not add the brown sugar but will sprinkle it on top when I have it for breakfast. I will be making this all winter long! You have to try this recipe it is so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Made this recipe for a group and everyone loved it! I did put in a little less cinnamon and half as much brown sugar. When it finish cooking and I tasted it, I added the rest of the brown sugar. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was just "OK"...won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this last night and my family liked it. I did not find it to be too sweet or to spicy. I agree with the person that suggested adding salt. I cooked in the crockpot on warm overnight and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This oatmeal turned out less than exceptional. The only change I made was to cut the cinnamon in half, and use regular brown sugar in place of Splenda. At first this smelled so good while it was cooking, just like pumpkin pie. I checked on it after 3 hours and it seemed like all the pumpkin flavor had been cooked out of it. It was finished in 4 hours and I put it in a Tupperware bowl in the fridge to eat all week. I noticed it was VERY thick. In the morning I reheated it on the stove top and had to add about 1/2 cup of milk to make it the correct consistency. It was still lacking in flavor so I opened another can of pumpkin and stirred in an extra Tbsp to my portion & a tsp of cinnamon-sugar. I hate wasting ingredients, especially something pricey like organic, steel cut oats. This needs a lot of tweaking. Not sure if I'll try making it again after this batch is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States