Slow Cooker Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I used plain canned pumpkin I had leftover from turkey day. I didn't have heavy cream so I just added sour cream at the end. Also since I like thing a little spicy I just added a dash of red pepper flakes. It was quite good. I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
On its own, a bit bland, but one heck of a base for a hearty winter soup: I added butter, curry powder, sesame and wasabi oil to the saute; put the herbs in at the bottom of the slow cooker, with cinnampon sticks at the sides and bay leaves layered in; kicked up the bay a bit, and set it for 12 hours on low. When done, used a bit of the broth to saute some nice langoustines (any subtle-flavored fish would have done), added langs to bottom of serving bowl, poured soup over, drizzled with heavy cream. A smash hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This may be an excellent recipe. It looks very good. But I will never make it because I do not know what a medium onion looks like or what a medium sugar pumpkin looks like. Recipes may refer to medium, but should then state a quantity of the item. One person's medium may be another's small or large - who knows?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I had to use dried herbs, I live up north so fresh herbs are hard to get. I served this to people at work, they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I found the soup a little bland, maybe if I spice it up with some ginger and cayenne pepper... or add some brown sugar and nutmeg... it is a good base, but it needs something else. In any case, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I like it because it's simple. I made pumpkin soup every year at Halloween and the kids loved it before going Trick/Treat. If you follow any recipe for carrot or squash soup it's very similar. I like to add celery and POTATOES to make it thicker. More spices like pumpkin pie mix and curry, chili powder and whatever herbs I like. sometimes I leave the soup chunky with big pieces of pumpkin. I use lots of onions and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
The Recipe started a little bland, but after I added a little V8 Juice it balanced well with some pasta. Was well liked by non soup eaters, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
A little bland so I added some fresh pressed garlic and cooked for six hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe for this soup and thought it was delicious. Wonderful on a cold, fall day! Really nice flavour with the fresh herbs! I would definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This soup was pretty good except, I found that the cinnamon ruined the entire flavor of the pumpkin and other spices. Im leaving the cinnamon out. It'll be awesome instead of pretty good next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlliVincent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States