Slow Cooker Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Did not like this recipe very much. I may have added too much of the herbs/spices, I didn't measure too carefully. But nevertheless, I found this soup too sweet and ended up discarding most of it. Not my cup of tea I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica from Calgary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
On its own, a bit bland, but one heck of a base for a hearty winter soup: I added butter, curry powder, sesame and wasabi oil to the saute; put the herbs in at the bottom of the slow cooker, with cinnampon sticks at the sides and bay leaves layered in; kicked up the bay a bit, and set it for 12 hours on low. When done, used a bit of the broth to saute some nice langoustines (any subtle-flavored fish would have done), added langs to bottom of serving bowl, poured soup over, drizzled with heavy cream. A smash hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I found the soup a little bland, maybe if I spice it up with some ginger and cayenne pepper... or add some brown sugar and nutmeg... it is a good base, but it needs something else. In any case, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
A little bland so I added some fresh pressed garlic and cooked for six hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
ok - doubt I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I had to use dried herbs, I live up north so fresh herbs are hard to get. I served this to people at work, they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
The Recipe started a little bland, but after I added a little V8 Juice it balanced well with some pasta. Was well liked by non soup eaters, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I used plain canned pumpkin I had leftover from turkey day. I didn't have heavy cream so I just added sour cream at the end. Also since I like thing a little spicy I just added a dash of red pepper flakes. It was quite good. I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe for this soup and thought it was delicious. Wonderful on a cold, fall day! Really nice flavour with the fresh herbs! I would definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States