Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made this exactly as directed except I used a 4 lb pork shoulder (more bang for your buck). It was delicious. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Make this all the time for my family that loves it ! The root beer makes all the difference! Sweet and spicy-- I make this in the crock pot and leave a good 10+ hours so It falls to pieces and is easy to shred. Serve with a pile of coleslaw on top = yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I recommend making this with ~ 3lb pork shoulder instead of the recommended tenderloin. I used a 2lb one, and the meat to sauce ratio was not quite right. I didn't read the directions and added the BBQ sauce and root beer at the beginning, as well as a bit (about 2-3Tbsp) of white vinegar, to cut some sweetness. It turned out well. No need to drain this recipe, which was good. I served it on buns with crunchy fried onions, which made a nice contrast in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Wasn't the most amazing pulled pork ever, but it was good. I did a spice rub on the pork first, though, and next time, I'll sear the meat before putting it into the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Swanton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This recipe was awesome!! My family loved it!! I did use a pork roast as it was on sale and only cost me $6 for a three pound roast. I cooked as directed once it was done I removed the one small bone. Then I removed the roast from the crock and placed in a large bowl. I used my hand mixer to shred the meat as this method only took me about one minute vs using a fork for about 5 min. I poured the juice from the crock into a nonstick pot added a bit more BBQ sauce and the shredded meat, simmered until it thickened up. I served on a seeded bun with coleslaw with French fries as the side! I had plenty left over so I used a silicone mini loaf pan, filled with meat then froze overnight, and then transferred to a gallon Ziploc freezer bag. Now we have pulled pork on hand for school lunches or my husband a quick meal. This is also great as a BBQ baked potato!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatriciaV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Went with the tenderloin route, as we like the leaner cuts in our house. We added our normal meat seasonings (Mrs. Dash garlic and herb, lawny's season salt) before pouring the root beer (A&W) in. Also, we went with 2 bottles of root beer to cover the tenderloin entirely. It was really good, and it got my husband's seal of approval to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I seasoned my 6.68 pound "shoulder butt" roast with Lawery's poultry rub, stabbing the roast with a small knife then generously rubbing this stuff over the entire surface. Put the rubbed roast in the crock pot, added a can and a half of Pepsi since that's what lives in our house! The fluid level was about half way up the roast. It went on low all night and the next morning it was so tender I thought I'd missed the meat and was stabbing air! I let it cool while I woke up with a couple cups of coffee, then removed the bone from the meat and poured everything through a colendar, saving the juices in a large bowl. I'm so glad I did this. The eventually de-fatted broth tasted like "Au Jus" from a perfect standing rib! The meat itself was beautifully seasoned and was great as it was, but I went ahead and did half of it with Sweet Baby Ray's and some of the broth as directed. It didn't take as much sauce because the meat was so well seasoned already. The saved meat went into the freezer for future use...the rest did Christmas "lunch" with family...make your own sandwich on home baked sour dough bread. We were happy campers. I'm so thrilled with the way this turned out. I'm afraid I'll never again achieve this perfect balance of seasoning, so I'm going to savor every drop of the broth while I can! I hope to try this "cooking method" on other cuts of meat. Thanks for this recipe! And all the variations from reviewers, too! There's a lot of room to play with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Great but reduce the liquid and add smoked paprika and chili powder. Add two tablespoons of vinegar and salt. No need for BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Dobbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The easiest recipe ever!! I have made this several times with homemade tricolor coleslaw, and it is definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is ridiculously easy and delicious. I use pork butt instead of the tenderloin. Cheaper and tastier. The boys have enjoyed this so much that I've made it three times in the last month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 2,999) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork

Check out this simple, yet tasty slow cooker pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States