Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I was really hoping that this would be the best thing I have ever ate given >2,700 reviews. However, I just thought it was "okay". I used a pork butt as many suggested, used sweet baby ray's bbq sauce as many suggested, as well as A&W rootbeer. I've never made slow cooker pork before so wasn't sure what to expect. Husband said he thought it was good...it just seemed like it was missing something, perhaps the type of bbq sauce (sweet and spicey) wasn't a good selection. I will note that it did taste better the next day. My mom makes awsome pulled pork so I asked what she used to flavor it and she stated she actually used a combo of bbq sauce and she used Coke. So maybe it was the rootbeer that made it taste less than desirable....Will try it again using different bbq sauce to see it that will make a difference. The recipe was very easy to follow however so that is why I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I am not a fan of root beer, but I tried this recipe anyway because reviewers stated you could NOT taste the root beer, and the meat would be fall apart tender. I used a 4lb. pork tenderloin because that was what I had on hand, and it was very tender after about 8 hrs cooking on low. BUT, it definitely tasted of sweet root beer. So, I used a large bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's Sweet and spicy BBQ sauce. The spicy sauce did cut some of the sweetness. I don't know how you could say you can't taste the root beer. Next time, I will use beef broth as others did and not bother with root beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This was just as incredible as all of the reviews said. I used whole foods brand root beer because it's made with real cane sugar and comes in a two liter bottle. I also used pork shoulder instead of tenderloin, although I found myself pulling out chunks of fat as I shredded the pork, because it was a fattier cut. I cooked about four and a half pounds of pork in two liters of root beer for seven hours, then I drained it and, also on the recommendation of other reviewers, added Sweet Baby Ray's Swwet and Spicy barbecue sauce. Some of the reviews had called for the Hot and Spicy, which, I discovered, no longer exists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Used a Boston butt as others suggested. This is such an easy and delicious recipe! We served our sandwiches on King's Hawaiian hamburger buns - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe. I used pork loin roast which has more fat, but is MUCH cheaper. I just peeled off the fat before I pulled the meat apart. I agree that adding the barbecue sauce and cooking on high for an hour really made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
For someone who only cooks once in a while was easy and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Just a thought...I make a very similar recipe with cola instead of root her with a few extra tweaks. I see a lot of posts about using a cheaper cut, totally agree, however tonight a tenderloin was what I had thawed and pulled pork sounded yummy. So, for a little added flavor try dicing up a few slices of bacon and about half an onion(depending on amount of meat,mine was 2 pounds) and lightly brown together. They do not have to be fully cooked as they will continue in the crockpot. Just a quick tip for extra flavor, mine always comes out awesome and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I agree, tenderloin, though healthier is not necessary when you are cooking it it root beer and covering it with BBQ sauce. Butt or shoulder works just as well. I also use dr. Pepper too, which works just as well. I also season with salt and pepper first. When I drain it, we keep all the onions to eat, they are so good mixed in as well. I prefer making homemade BBQ sauce, but sweet baby rays works well in a pinch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Awesome!!! Super easy to make and very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made this last night for a potluck. I'm so happy to have found a way to make pulled pork so easily at home. Since I was making a lot, I used my giant crockpot and used one shoulder and two tenderloins. Both cuts tasted good, but the shoulder meat was much juicier than the tenderloin. There wasn't a hint of root beer taste. I will make this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 2,822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States