Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I've tweaked this recipe a little bit - I use a 4.5 to 5 pound pork shoulder (as big as will fit in my crock pot), and I cook it a little longer (8 to 9 hours) with two cans of Barqs root beer and half a yellow sweet onion chopped up. A bottle and a half of Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory & Brown Sugar barbecue sauce at the end makes it just the right amount of soupy - it'll make a mess if you let it, but it won't fall out of the bun if you're careful. I make it often for potlucks, and everyone who has tried it absolutely LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
A friend told me to cook pork this way. I used a pork loin (I prefer to save pork tenderloins for other preparations) and cooked it with a liter of root beer for about 7 hours. I shredded the pork (easily), returned it to the pot and added Jack Daniels Master Blend BBQ sauce. The pork was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Very delicious and tender. We needed extra BBQ sauce though. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Some days you just want an easy to make meal, and this fits the bill. Used the Sweet Baby Ray's Sweet & Spicy sauce. You could add as much as you like to keep it thin or drown it on. With coleslaw and other sides you're ready for a crowd. If you slow cook it overnight for 10 hrs, there's no hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Very easy to make. Results in very tender meat with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
They had pork loin and root beer on sale at my local store so I figured what the heck and tried this out. Had to adjust a little cause I got a 4 lb loin but I just covered the loin with root beer in the cooker and doubled the other ingredients. It turned out wonderful! The meat cooked up very tender and very flavorful. I used Jack Daniels BBQ sauce, and I recommend it to others as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
This is so simple and tasty, with being a good starter recipe to make it your own! I use a 2.5 Pork Loin Tips which our local store has on sale very often as a buy one get two free. 2.5 pounds is plenty for our family of 5. But it was also great as a potluck offering. The tips have less fat and when I can buy 7.5 pounds of meat for $12, I am pretty happy. I have used root beer, gingerale, rubbed the tips in McCormick's dry rubs, my home made rub, and it turns out wonderful everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This recipe is not that different from any pulled pork recipe that you can find anywhere else, but yet it has the root beer as ingredient that makes it more interesting. I have seen that some peole add apple cider or any other liquid but I found that the root beer gives it a special touch. When you have that root beer taste combine with the porks fat and the BBQ sauce you have a good sauce to marinate you pork to not be dry. You should try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I thought it needed salt and pepper. All-in-all, this is as simple as pulled pork can be. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silvermox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Good flavor and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States