Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Here's the deal folks! Most would agree that using a pork tenderloin for pulled pork is not a good idea. Cheaper cuts of pork work just the same and have tons of flavor! I used a 4 pound shoulder cut (also called Boston butt). It was only $5, whereas a 2 pound cut of tenderloin was $10! I cooked in the slow cooker for 7 hours, pulled it apart and mixed with Sweet Baby Ray's Hot and Spicy sauce, and then cooked for another hour. I served them on Kaiser rolls with coleslaw and homemade fries from this site. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegaG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was so easy to make and the results were amazing. I followed the recipe only adding a couple of things. Before placing the tenderloin in the slow cooker, I rubber salt, pepper, and garlic salt on it. I then used a fork to poke holes in the tenderloin so the juices could be soaked up. I added the root beer and let it cook on low for 5 1/2-6 hours. I then drained and pulled the pork apart easily with a fork. I returned the pork to the slow cooker and added the BBQ sauce and let it continue to cook on low for another 1-1 1/2 hours. It was so good and and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4709 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I was looking for something I could cook in the crock pot on a very busy day. I was tired of the usual pot roast, and we have chicken all the time so,the idea of pulled pork occured to me. I tweaked this reciped just a bit and the result was really good! I knew a 2 lb tenderloin would never be enough for my family of 6, so on the advice of the butcher at my grocery store, I used a 4 lb shoulder (it had a small bone in it, but it slid out easily after cooking on low for 10 hours. I mixed 1/2 cup of Bull's Eye Original Barbeque sauce with 2 cups of root beer then poured it over the roast, sprinkled it with a generous amount of dried minced onion, then drizzled some additional barbeque sauce over the roast. Halfway through cooking, I turned the roast over, added more minced onions and another drizzle of sauce. After 10 hours in the crock, I removed the roast, let cool slightly and then shredded it. I mixed in the rest of the barbeque sauce, some salt and a little water to moisten it and served it on a bun. The result was a restuarant quality pulled pork sandwich that my whole family enjoyed! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3573 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
WOW!! This is SO GOOD! I have to admit, when my friend first told me about "Root Beer" pork, I was skeptical. Then she told me that her chef fiance loved it, so I decided that was a good reason to give it a try. I'm SO glad I did! I cooked it in just root beer for 6 hours, then drained it and cooked it in the BBQ sauce for an hour. When I tasted it, it MELTED in my mouth! It is SO GOOD!!! Plus it was super easy! Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
975 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdoos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
FANTASTIC! I had gone to "Log Cabin BBQ" the last night, which inspired me to try to make pulled pork sandwiches myself. This one blows Log Cabin BBQ out of the water! I used a 6 pound pork shoulder and filled up my slow cooker with root beer to cover the meat. Left it in for about 10 hours. It was so tender and juicy, I could barely take it out of the slow cooker! The best thing is--7 pounds of pork shoulder was only about $10!!!! The means you can make enough pulled pork sandwiches to feed about 30 people for about $15-20!! And they will be raving about it! Extra points for ease, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
860 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMCDONAL86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Thought this was good, but not too much different than what I usually make. I typically use pork butt or shoulder and cook it with a cup of water, shredding and adding the bbq sauce at the end. I like the idea in this recipe of using pork tenderloin - it's a lot less fatty and very easy to shred/pull, although you may sacrifice some flavor using a leaner cut like this. As for the rootbeer - it didn't seem to noticeably enhance the flavor of this dish for me. In all fairness though, I did have a cold, so maybe that had something to do with it! The rootbeer did however make for a messy crockpot when it came to clean up as the sugar caramelized on the side of the pot and was really tough to scrub off. I'd recommend either using cooking spray on the sides of the crockpot, or trying a pan liner made for crockpots. If like me you have trouble getting it clean - try scrubbing with your fingers using a paste made from Bon Ami. Worked for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
858 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is a GREAT recipe for a sweet southern type pork unlike the strong underlying flavor of vinegar favored by the East coast or the mustard based sauces of South Carolina/ Georgia. With that being said if you are a traditionalist of a geographic region, this is probably NOT the recipe for you unless you like the sweeter sauces of Tennessee. Experience imparts using a pork tenderloin will provide a drier meat, however using something will a little more fat such as a shoulder or butt will impart more flavor. The main tip for this recipe is to ensure your meat is covered with liquid, or turn it every few hours. Mixed with Sweet Baby Rays, Sweet and Spicy sauce to help counter the sweetness of the root beer and cooked for 1 hour longer to absorb the sauce into the meat. Served on onion rolls with a sprinkling of French's French Fried Onion Rings on the meat and a side of apple coleslaw (from this site) for a quick dinner. 5 stars for a truly easy, no fuss, no muss recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
612 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Very very good. I used a pork shoulder roast. I soaked it in the rootbeer overnight. We love Sweet Baby Rays Brown Sugar and Hickory sauce. I couldn't keep the kids from eating it before dinner. I will be making this again for sure. Would be great to serve to a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
526 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe! I used a bottle of beer instead of the rootbeer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
493 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I appreciate folks who review the recipe when they have used the original ingredients. What I don't appreciate, is someone who posts and completely changed ingredients. Why not post as an entirely different recipe. This was great as is. It will vary, depending on what barbecue sauce you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
409 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,833) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States