Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This was so good. I used a pork shoulder roast. Took it to a family BBQ and everyone loved it. I don't like root beer and was a bit hesitant because of that, but you couldn't taste the root beer. I used Sweet Baby Rays original BBQ sauce and served it on King's Hawaiian rolls. Very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Amazing! Was skeptical about the rootbeer...I used dads rootbeer brand a 1 liter bottle, I actually ended up falling asleep so it cooked for 10 hours instead of 7 and was soooo tender and juicy.. I definitely think I put too much root beer in but it was amazing!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very easy to prepare. At first I was a bit concerned about cooking with root beer. Well this is a keeper. Thanks for sharing ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nothing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I used a combination of pork tenderloin and boneless pork loin which I had in the freezer, and diet root beer (what I had on hand). I actually liked the pork loin (which I bought on sale for $1.99/lb) better than the tenderloin. I also liked that when shredding, I didn’t have to go through the meat and discard all the fat that you have when using the typical Boston butt roast. The meat cooked perfectly at 6 hours, and its flavor was fantastic, just an interesting little bit of sweetness from the root beer. As other reviewers have mentioned, the BBQ sauce that you use will totally dominate the flavor of the pork, so at a minimum, choose one that you REALLY like. Unfortunately, I wanted that pork flavor on my sandwich, and in the future, I will not use a powerful tomato-based BBQ sauce for this recipe. I will serve the pork on its own, maybe wrapped in a lettuce leaf with some Asian garnishes, set some aside for some Mexican dishes, or try a vinegary North Carolina BBQ sauce for sandwiches. And seriously, put meat in pot, add root beer, lid on, cook for 6 hours, shred, and add sauce...come on, it just doesn’t get much easier than that. I’m not a huge crock pot fan, but this is one that I really enjoyed, and I’m not alone, with 2,833 reviews at 4.5 stars. A winner, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe several times to rave reviews. I tried it using chicken thighs for pulled chicken. It was just as good as the pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Great recipe. I only cooked it for 6 hours before shredding and adding the BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
EASY EASY and very good. Made this for friends.... not much left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stardust0416
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I would give this recipe 6 stars if I could. Perfect as is!!! I used sweet baby rays sweet and spicy BBQ sauce. AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Good, but it's very much just the sauce on the meat that you taste in the end. Unfortunately, I went with a sweeter BBQ sauce and ended up with what tasted like a sloppy joe. If I'd used a traditional sauce, though, I'd say the experience of the pulled pork would have been more on the mark. I followed the directions, using a small pork shoulder with an average amount of fat on it, added sliced onion on the bottom. Used enough A&W root beer to come up to 3/4 of the side of the meat, cooked it for 8 hours on low, turned it about three times,dumped the juice/root beer/onions, added the BBQ sauce and cooked the last hour on high. I tasted the pork on it's own after shredding and sadly, honestly, the meat didn't taste like anything at all! Super-tender and shredded easily, obviously, but it had no real flavor. The meat wasn't supposed to be seasoned, so I was hoping for a rich flavor or something from just the root beer, but no. So in the end, since the root beer does NOTHING to flavor the meat, you basically end up with just the taste of whatever BBQ sauce you use. **UPDATE: the root beer is meant to act as a tenderizer only and is not used for flavoring, according to a review I just read! That explains a lot!** Super-easy recipe and fairly cheap. I'll make it again, but just use a vinegar-based BBQ sauce next time. But we did really like it and both ate two sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This was soooo easy and soooo delicious! Will be doing it again very soon! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States