Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great recipe! Late on Saturday night I took out a four-pound pork roast. While still frozen, I put it into the slow cooker, added the spices and sauce ingredients, set it on low, and left it all night to cook. It worked great! At 9 am I shredded the pork, and when I came home from church it was ready to eat. This is a recipe I will definitely do again! I did not have apple cider vinegar (I personally do not like it) so I exchanged it for 1/2 cup red wine vinegar and 1/2 cup white vinegar. It worked great and the flavor was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashandrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I will alter it with a little less cumin and add a little more allspice, but it was totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Oak Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
We loved this recipe. The only thing I would have done different was to add more of the spices. My pork roast was bigger than 3 1/2 lbs. It was 4+. Thank you Heinzitup.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I've made this twice now, and loved it both times. I am always rushed, and by the time I got to putting the pork in it was getting late, so I just dumped all the ingredients in and turned on the cooker. It was delicious without marinating or rubbing. The second time I cooked it, I did make the rub and rubbed it on prior to cooking. I chilled the meat and sauce separately, and was able to remove some fat from the sauce before reheating. I served it on whole wheat buns with cole slaw. It was a big hit with both the husband and the teenagers....and me. I think the takeaway for me was that it isn't necessary to go through the fuss. Just dump all the ingredients in the cooker and go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devils Lake, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this on Memorial Day (2012). It was very very good. I cooked a four pound roast, and it was ready in nine hours. The sauce was so good that I reserved and thickened all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was wonderful! I followed the suggestion of many, and I added extra molasses to cut the tang. I used chipotle chili powder and smoked paprika, because that's what I had in the pantry. I made this for a family luncheon, along with coleslaw. Everyone devoured it, and according to my 6 year-old nephew, it was "spot on." It takes a little time to prep, but it's a simple, delicious, and forgiving recipe that afforded me time to spend with my family instead of slaving over a hot stove. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it really does need extra molasses to help cut the tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this recipe as it stated even after reading some of the comments that it was too vinegary. I have to agree so next time i make it i will reduce the amount maybe by 25% and see. This is definitely a keeper. btw i used 3 lbs of pork loin roast. Very nice. Go ahead and make this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This was really good! - but a little too vinegary for my tastes. I did not marinate, just blended everything together and poured a little into the bottom of the cooker, then put in the roast, then poured the rest of the sauce over the roast. I used only about 1/2 tsp black pepper and did not have coriander, and at least doubled the molasses - otherwise, I followed ingredients list. I accidentally cooked it a little too long and so the meat above the sauce line was dry, but the rest of it was really, really good! The sauce as too vinegary for my tastes. I like my sauces sweet and smoky. Next time I think I would cut the vinegar to 1/4 cup because there's plenty in the mustard too. And I would still add more molasses or brown sugar. But I would totally use this recipe again. Thanks, Heinz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
My husband thought that this was OK, but I really did not like it. I think that it might have been the vinegar, but I am not sure. I just know that there was a strong taste in this that I really did not like. Will not make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was a very good recipe but definitely too acidic. I added about 1/3c. Of brown sugar when I thickened the sauce and that really made the difference to bring this recipe up to 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States