Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I liked it, but after reading the reviews, I adjusted as follows; 1/2 C. maple syrup to 1/2 C. vinegar. I would also put meat and sauce in separate bowls and refrigerate overnight and skim fat. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
if you have no molasses try; Replace one cup of molasses with one of the following: 1 cup dark corn syrup, honey or maple syrup 3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar 3/4 cup granulated sugar, plus 1/4 cup water Note: These substitutions may alter the taste of your recipe a bit. If the molasses flavor is vital to the success of your recipe, try the brown sugar substitute. Since brown sugar is made from granulated sugar and molasses, it'll be the closest flavor match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckalba
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Just made it for 4H potluck. It is GONE. Well received. Served it with fresh sliced white bread as there was a lot of sauce. The bread was great for soaking up the sauce left on the plates. Next time I'll use a bigger roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Amazing! Shared it with all my friends and they love it too! Tip: just add a couple of table spoons of brown sugar to sweeten it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
It's great if you half the amount of vinegar and substitute water for the rest. I also reduce the amount of ketchup to keep the sugar down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Sour Sour Sour! Gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This recipe is great! I tried it first on the family and everyone loved it! Second time I made it for some friends who needed a bit of a treat, and they thought it was amazing. Last night I made it for a casual night in with friends and wow! Everyone devoured it. Very easy to make, and although I did try altering the recipe a bit according to what other readers suggested, I found it turned out best when I followed the recipe exactly. This has definitely become one of our family favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Great base recipe! I used Pork Loin Roast since that's what I had in the freezer, low fat and came out great, with a few changes. Even before reading other's comments I about choked when I saw this called for 1 cup of vinegar. Since I'm not pickling the meat or myself, I did look at my other pulled pork recipes to see that only 3T, + 1-3T if making own sauce like here (vs bottled bbq sauce), is just right for us, considering the vinegar already in the mustard & ketchup. I did not use oil with the spices to make a paste, just 'dry rub' it onto the meat and dumped leftover spice into sauce ingredients. I did decrease the Allspice a bit for our personal taste otherwise hubby & I thought it was a tasty combo! I used Red Wine vinegar in place of apple cider vinegar, also Dijon mustard instead of Yellow; both more to our liking. With using the low fat roast, not very juicy, did not need thickening. When meat done, shredded it & returned to crockpot & sauce, left on low until serving. Very tasty, will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made it for Super Bowl sunday and was not happy with it. Our guests told us it was delicious but this will not be a recipe I would follow again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great recipe! Late on Saturday night I took out a four-pound pork roast. While still frozen, I put it into the slow cooker, added the spices and sauce ingredients, set it on low, and left it all night to cook. It worked great! At 9 am I shredded the pork, and when I came home from church it was ready to eat. This is a recipe I will definitely do again! I did not have apple cider vinegar (I personally do not like it) so I exchanged it for 1/2 cup red wine vinegar and 1/2 cup white vinegar. It worked great and the flavor was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashandrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States