Slow Cooker Pozole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Cheryl B stole my thunder..... I signed up just to leave a comment about how lame everyone is that changes the recipe and then rate it badly ("I couldn't find hominy at my local store" or "I've never heard of chicken in pozole before"......really?!). There are many different pozole recipes and the taste varies greatly. I was looking not for a "traditional" recipe, but for one that did not require a 2 part cooking process and could cook unattended. To that end I found a very good base recipe. Will I make changes? Absolutely, but only because of my personal taste and will not penalize the author of this recipe with a bad rating. For everyone that finds that this recipe is, "missing something" that they, "can't figure out".....it's probably the marrow flavor that you're missing because this is a boneless recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I thought this recipe made decent pozole with very little work. I found all the ingredients in my local Safeway (of major importance to me)including the pasilla, which I found in the produce section with all the dried fruits and stuff. The main thing I would do differently next time: Use regular broth, not low sodium broth, because this recipe ends up needing salt in the end. It defeinitely needs a hot sauce to go with it as well. I prefer a green sauce (used the green tobasco a couple times, which was okay), because I feel it just goes best with the pork. To extend the recipe a little (I'm a student) I served it over rice a couple of times. It made the meal just a little more hardy without any real added expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
5 stars because I love the spicing! My boyfriend made a great batch on New Year Day and served 8. He used 2.5 lbs of cubed pork loin and no chicken (he said he's never seen chicken in Pozole!). He added two sliced pickled serrano peppers and a 2nd can of beef broth. He added a smidge more of the oregano and garlic too. In Mexico City, the Pozole was much SPICIER. There, you dipped a salty tortilla chip in unsweetened whipped cream to cool off your tongue. This is great on any table with spicy Mexican food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faith allison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is a very good recipe, a bit different tasting than other Pozole Soups that I have had, but tasty none the less. I cannot figure out why some change the ingredients, and then say something is missing or that it doesn't taste like what they know and give it a less than fair rating. Each recipe is what it is, and should be rated as such, then play with the ingredients if you wish. This is a great tasting recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Awesome Pozole! I made this for a new years party and it all was gone before midnight. It made me feel I was back home in Mexico. Insted of using canned chicken broth, I made my own broth. I did not add the diced green chiles and it still came out wonderful. My husdand loved the Pozole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
this is definitely five star,but could only give it four cause i changed an ingredient, i can't get hominy here so i used yellow and white corn.it turned out delicous.definately a replacement for chili.thank you majorgsp for this wonderful recipi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deer Lake, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I believe the missing ingredient is tomatillos - puree 1 pound with pasilla chili to create sauce in step 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is a very good soup.I made it like the recipe except for the peppers. I left out the green chile and added two chipote peppers. This makes it a little hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I liked this pozole. Although I do prefer red chiles. Someone said this was like a soup. That would be because it IS a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This was the first time I have ever made Pozole, it was really good. I put both pork and beef in mine. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States