Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I made this soup and WOW! I loved it! I know a lot of the other reviews said that it was "plain" or had little taste, but the parsley, salt and pepper did it for me. I always add sour cream, cheese, and bacon bits to my potato soup per bowl anyway. My father-in-law was here when I made it and he said "Man, you're holding back on your cooking. This is great!" And my husband even said he liked it better than the potato soups we've had at restaurants. I didn't tell them where I got the recipe... heehee. ;) By the way, DON'T even try skinning 8 lbs. of potatoes... that HAD TO be a typo. I skinned and cubed about 7-8 and that was clearly enough! Great with cornbread! Thanks for the GRRRREAT recipe! I'll use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
This was a real life saver when my family and I got snowed in for 2 days. I added a little bit of cooked bacon and "squeeze" cheese the second time I made it and it made a terrific recipe just that much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I opted for vegetable bouillon instead of chicken and olive oil instead of butter. Salt and pepper and garlic to taste. The soup was wonderful and hearty. It was almost a garlic baked potato soup and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This soup was a hit with the kids, who never eat soup...really easy to prepare and cook in the crock pot. I added some bacon and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Very good basic recipe-have to add spices accding to your tastes..2nd time making recipe, I added a can of Cream of Chicken soup at the beginning, and also diced onions. Spices used: Old Bay, Garlic salt, reg. salt, garlic powder, white pepper, dill weed, 2 bay leaves, Cavender's seasoning. Very very good with 'real' bacon bits & shredded cheddar added too. Top w/sour cream & more cheese if you want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
we really love this soup however I add 2 cups of shredded cheese the last 30 mins then top with real bacon bits and scallions for a "loaded baked potato soup!!" YUMMY and great for a busy family. Use slow cooker liners for even less cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very good soup, but it is very basic! Use this recipe as a starting point and add whatever else you like. It's all about making it personal! It's a very basic recipe so I added more salt, pepper, some kosher salt, basil, oregano (just a little of the last two). It's fantastic with some homemade bread, a real feel good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeceMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was on my list of soups to learn to make!! Very pleased with it and the outcome. I used a can of chicken broth instead of the water and chicken bouillon. I seasoned it with salt, pepper and garlic salt. Prior to adding the milk and flour mixture I warmed it up in a seperate bowl, so I wouldn't be adding cold milk into a hot crock pot. This reduces the chances of curdling(?) with the milk. I serve with sour cream, shredded cheese and bacon crumbled on top. I also serve it in a sour dough bread bowl!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was super easy to make (I left the skins on the potatos to cut down on prep time and increase nutrition) and my picky husband loved it! I used olive oil instead of butter, and just added milk to taste at the end. I found that if you don't add as much milk, you get a very creamy mashed potato dish too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was very easy and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pwheeler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sabina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States