Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Joeshmoe
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is probably the worst recipe on this site for a few reasons: 1. 8 pounds of potatoes is a typo; it should be 8 potatoes, the fact that this has been pointed out by users years ago and has yet to be corrected makes me question the credibility of every recipe on here 2. It takes much longer than 10 minutes to prep for this recipe, especially if you do it exactly the way it is written out 3. It is bland. Very very bland. I had to use a lot of other things just to make it taste good enough to eat. As it is, this recipe is practically worthless and a waste of good potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I liked the picture and add chunks of ham and (1) can of corn add on last 1/2 hour .. also I froze some in 1qt cantainers and ate it 6 mos later and tasted great still....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this recipe was very good my husand and i both loved it i did make some changes after reading reviews i added left over ham and some bacon i added salt and pepper before cooking i also added celery instead of parsley dont add cold milk and flour to hot soup makes a lumpy mess need to add some hot liquid to make flour smooth did add cheddar cheese before serving excellent soup, also way to many potatoes i used about 8 potaoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was very bland and made me feel like a failure in the kitchen. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
A good basic recipe that you can tweak to your own liking. I, like other reviewers, assumed 8 CUPS of potatoes were to be used. :-). I omitted the onion, used 7 cups of vegetable broth instead of bouillon and water, and subbed plain rice milk for the milk. Additionally, I added 3 carrots that were peeled and diced, 3 stalks of celery that were diced, 10 slices of cooked turkey bacon that were chopped, 2 tablespoons each of oregano, basil, and thyme. I served the soup in sourdough bread bowls. Dinner was a success! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This recipe is great as a base. After reading other reviews I made some changes and the resulting sup was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pakenham, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was a very easy recipe but the flavor was just okay. Adding bacon bits and cheese on top of soup, I would then rate it a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I made some adjustments to the recipe I used 1 cup half and half and 1 cup milk for a more creamy taste. I also added garlic salt and black pepper. With those adjustments the soup was great! I also added shredded cheese and bacon bits on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was a great, easy soup. Added some ham and celery to give it more texture. My mother has been on a soft food diet for two months now, and this was by far the best she had eaten. She said it was like having "real" food again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I love this recipe but added about 2 tablespoons (give or take) to give the soup just the right amount of flavor. My fiancée's grandparents loved this when we made it during a visit and it was very filling. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States