Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I like potato soup but I really didn't care for this one. It was easy to prepare, thinkened up real nice but it just didn't have any flavor. Salt and pepper helped a bit, but it needs something more in my opinion. If you like plain tasting soup this will work for you if you don't keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
This was a real life saver when my family and I got snowed in for 2 days. I added a little bit of cooked bacon and "squeeze" cheese the second time I made it and it made a terrific recipe just that much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
More of a stew, with nothing in it but potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This soup was just too bland for my taste. Needed a little more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Maybe I did something wrong, but this soup had absolutely no taste to it whatsoever. We both worked so hard at making this, and were very disappointed to find it so blan. Maybe it was just us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I added a few dashes of Mrs. Dash's Onion and Herb Powder when preparing the soup and a few more dashes about an hour b4 i served the soup. I put bacon bits, scallions and some cheddar on the side for folks to garnish the soup. Huge hit at the office food day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMAG1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Potatoes didn't soften into a creamy soup after cooking as directed, so then I cooked another 6 hrs on high. Very bland even when I added cheese and too starchy--not at all what I expected from potato soup! Keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
thought the soup was good but I could not get it creamy enough. I added some potato flakes to make it thicker and it did work but the texture was not as smooth as I would like it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDWESTCINCY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
Maybe I am just not fast in the kitchen, but I found the prep time of ten minutes to peel and cube 8 pounds of potatoes and prepare all the other ingredients to be a joke. The soup, more like lumpy mashed potatoes was okay, but I guess not good enough because nobody touched the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
First of all this soup was extremely bland. I added salt, pepper, and garlic just to choke it down. Secondly, The directions were not very clear on what size of cubes to cut the potatoes into..so I made them bigger. It turned out to be just potatoes with kind of a vegetable gravy. Very unappetizing. There must be better recepies than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States