Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very good soup, but it is very basic! Use this recipe as a starting point and add whatever else you like. It's all about making it personal! It's a very basic recipe so I added more salt, pepper, some kosher salt, basil, oregano (just a little of the last two). It's fantastic with some homemade bread, a real feel good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeceMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Good starter recipe but needed to be seasoned! I did grated medium cheddar once. I sprinkled garlic salt another time. I think bacon would also be good to add in at some point too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I added salt and pepper and about one cup of sour cream when I added the milk. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
The soup junkie of the house really liked this. I made a few changes to give it more flavor: I used 4c veg broth and 2c water, added sprigs of rosemary and thyme, and added four whole cloves of garlic. I also used almond milk (1.5c, since it's thinner) and sprouted multigrain flour. Next time, I think I'll just blend some of the potatoes to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Yummy! I added two carrots sliced up and used Knorr Leek soup mix instead of the other seasonings. For sure the 8 POUNDS of potatoes has to be a typo; I used 8 potatoes. Before adding the milk (I cut it down to 1 cup of milk and 1/3 cup of flour) I scooped out the carrots, then mashed the potato soup mixture; then put the carrots back in, added the milk and flour. Topped with cheddar cheese and served! Great! Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I was very happy with the way this turned out, once I made a few adjustments. First of all, 4 or 5 pounds of potatoes is plenty. More than that, and it will overflow your crockpot. I used dried minced onion in place of fresh, and subbed vegetable bouillon for chicken. I added liberal dashes of garlic salt and black pepper, and finally threw in about 1 1/2 t. of herbes de Provence on top of the ingredients in the recipe. I believe it was this last herb blend that really made it into a very fine potato soup. Will certainly make this again, perhaps adding a vegetarian meat substitute of some kind as an experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I made this soup and WOW! I loved it! I know a lot of the other reviews said that it was "plain" or had little taste, but the parsley, salt and pepper did it for me. I always add sour cream, cheese, and bacon bits to my potato soup per bowl anyway. My father-in-law was here when I made it and he said "Man, you're holding back on your cooking. This is great!" And my husband even said he liked it better than the potato soups we've had at restaurants. I didn't tell them where I got the recipe... heehee. ;) By the way, DON'T even try skinning 8 lbs. of potatoes... that HAD TO be a typo. I skinned and cubed about 7-8 and that was clearly enough! Great with cornbread! Thanks for the GRRRREAT recipe! I'll use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I gave this recipe 3 stars mainly because it just wasn't my favorite. My husband loved it though. I think it could of had more flavor it turned out really well otherwise and thickened nicely. Next time I will just add more to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
It's very yummy. Made this for a very picky eater. We both love it. I have been making it ever since I found it a few years ago. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISABLLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
we really love this soup however I add 2 cups of shredded cheese the last 30 mins then top with real bacon bits and scallions for a "loaded baked potato soup!!" YUMMY and great for a busy family. Use slow cooker liners for even less cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States