Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
great soup! I added 2-1 inch thick ham steak cut in cubes. I also added 1 can of cooked corn at the end (when you add the milk) and topped with shredded cheddar cheese....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was my first time using my slow cooker. Really simple and was a huge hit with my boyfriend. Easy recipe to edit and even easier to make. Definitely gonna make this again and again and again every time we get snowed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymondville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I have made this several times. I think it is okay if you follow the recipe, but as others have said, it is a little lacking in flavor. So my second time around I added quite a bit of pepper, garlic, sea salt, extra parsley, oregano, and cheese for the last hour, to make it creamier and add flavor. With those additions, it is one I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Very plain and flavorless. I added chicken steak extra chicken cubes flavor boost chicken sauce cumin oregano thyme garlic extra butter and cream of chicken soup. Basically made a whole new soup. Turned out AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was a great base recipe! I added frozen broccoli, cheese, a can of cream of chicken, a little sour cream, basil, garlic powder, salt, and pepper, and it turned out amazing! Lots of flavor and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Im sorry but Recipe as is ...two stars just for the ease of cooking but the recipe is Very very bland. I added salt, pepper, garlic, celery, green onion, chicken & cayenne after I tasted the original recipe to give it some flavor. A good base recipe to build on if you have an idea of how to spice things on your own. But if you lack cooking skills I wouldn't follow this recipe on its own with no additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chammack

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Very bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This recipe is exactly what I needed it to be: a basic foundation, with instructions, for a thick and creamy potato soup. I added chopped celery and carrots, and I substituted the chicken bouillon with a can of cream of chicken (it was all I had). Also swapped out the milk for some heavy cream since I like my soup thick. I definitely recommend adding your favorite spices...potato soup is normally pretty bland, so it can't hurt to add more salt and pepper, maybe even some garlic, if those suit your tastes. Garnish with sour cream and cheddar and you will be in heaven. This will be a must on St. Patrick's Day. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Young House Wife
Home Town: Maple Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Pretty disappointing. I didn't read all the other reviews first, so my bad. 6-8 hours on low on our crockpot were not enough - should have been on high. Way too many potatoes, the onion didn't cook and very very bland. I will read some of the reviews where people posted alternate recipes essentially and try again. Now I'm not sure what to do with 8 lbs of partially cooked potatoes....:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joeshmoe
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is probably the worst recipe on this site for a few reasons: 1. 8 pounds of potatoes is a typo; it should be 8 potatoes, the fact that this has been pointed out by users years ago and has yet to be corrected makes me question the credibility of every recipe on here 2. It takes much longer than 10 minutes to prep for this recipe, especially if you do it exactly the way it is written out 3. It is bland. Very very bland. I had to use a lot of other things just to make it taste good enough to eat. As it is, this recipe is practically worthless and a waste of good potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States