Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
GRAVY from a crock pot? Yes! In our family, gravy is its own food group. I was amazed with the flavor and texture of the gravy. The only thing I did after putting everything in the crock pot was to turn the roast over about 3 hours into the cooking process. I made some substitutions based on what was on hand, onion soup mix, beef broth and 1/2 tsp of Kitchen Bouquet instead of gravy mix and Italian dressing. Sorry about the substitutions but I think the onions on the bottom and flouring the roast would make a great base (ie, gravy) for various flavors. The reason I only gave it 4 stars was because it is very salty. My husband likes that but I could not serve it to guests. Conclusion: the method for gravy was great. Look for lower sodium options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I too was apprehensive of the seasoning mixture, but DO NOT change a thing! I made a little under 2.5 # roast and by the time I got home from work all that was left was one small Rubbermaid container for my husband to take to work. I was able to sneak a bite out of there, and let's just say, I will be making roast NO other way ever again! Easy and flavorful...I am so glad I came about this recipe. I did add potatoes with the carrots and 3/4 c water for slightly thinner gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Yummy! I read the reviews prior about being too salty, so I just bought packages that were low in sodium. Also with each package I only used half. Still has great flavor! Like others I also added potatoes & celery and 1.5 C of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I cut the recipe in half since I only had one 2 pound chuck roast. My husband and I both loved it. Served with mashed potatoes and fresh green beans. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Oh my gosh, so tender and savory! I couldn't stop eating!!! Easy to prepare; just be sure to allow for the full 8 hours to ensure the tenderness of the beef. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Long Kehoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Followed the recipe... Just had smaller amount of meat I rate this between 4-5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This pot roast is awesome! I've made it twice now, both times with mashed potatoes and the second time around I doubled the ranch, gravy, and italian mixes because we liked it so much. My boyfriend is pretty picky about what he eats. He loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddie Lindquist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I loved this roast. I used a bone in roast and I feel it was even more flavorful. Served it with some roasted potatoes and the gravy around the roast was actually thick enough to spoon on top of them. That has never happened with another roast! Don't skip the flour step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekah Epperson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Hubby and 7 year old love this ! I've made it twice this week with mashed potatoes . So easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jesus_Loves_Me90
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was my first slow cooker pot roast! And it was FABULOUS! Had to make a couple changes. I got a 3 1/2 pound rump roast, added quartered red potatoes and some celery. Two onions instead of one. My husband is allergic to an ingredient that is in nearly all dry gravy packets and jarred gravies, except for one. So I put in a jar and a half of gravy. And also just a couple spoons of minced garlic. It was beautiful! Though I needed to cook it a bit more for everything to be softer. My husband gave it a 10! Every wife loves to hear that, right? haha :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States