Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
My family loved it! Even My 8, 7 and 5 year old! I didn't have 8 hours to cook but 6 hours on my 2nd high (6 hour) heating setting worked out. It sat on off in crockpot for an extra hour and it was perfect and so tender. I added as another reviewer mentioned some red wine but did not substitute it for the water. Used the water and just added some wine in the end. I liked the consistency and flavor. Thank you for this delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
This is such an amazing dish!! I've made it just this way for quite some time and it is always fantastic! My bf even said he likes it better than his moms! The only thing I do different is add in carrots, doesn't change anything. Seriously make this NOW! U can't even mess it up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
A bit too salty... I had too dilute and season dish. But the meat had a shredded consistency. Next time I'll pound the roast in only one direction. My family didn't care. Placed on top of rice, it only lasted for dinner and Hubbie's late night snack. Definitely will repeat with alterations. Like use only half Italian seasoning and add green pepper to the onions. Unable to illicit my true opinion... 4.5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Great receipt! I did leave out the step with the flour. Also added cut up potato, as many as can fit in crock pot. Put on before going to bed. Next morning make sure all potato and carrots pieces are under the juice(gravy). Let cook until lunch time. Usually cook this for Sunday lunch. So easy yet so good! Have made this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Absolutely the Bomb! I used this recipe for short ribs. Wasn't sure about the flavor combinations, but needn't have worried. They are great! This will be my go to for roasts & ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Truly easy recipe with a tasty result. We thought it was slightly salty so will try different brands next time. The roast was tender and gravy rich. It truly delivered in easiness and richness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Like many others, I was very skeptical of the combination of seasoning packets - but the roast turned out very flavorful (and not very salty) and so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This is my go-to recipe now for pot roast. The whole family loves it. Hubby and I are eating fairly low-carb, so I leave out the flour. It's still delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I didn't like this as much as my usual "french onion soup mix" pot roast, but it did have some nice points that I probably will steal. For some reason, this had almost a heavy celery flavor to me. I'm not sure if it was the ranch dressing mix or the italian dressing mix, but the whole roast/gravy tasted heavily of celery. This is not my favorite flavor and I usually leave celery out of soups and stews to avoid that overwhelming flavor. I really liked the consistency of the gravy and I think I will start using the 1/4 c flour rubbed into the meat from now on. I really liked using the chuck roast. I usually use just whatever is on sale but I think chuck is how I'm going to go chuck from now on with pot roast. My next roast I will go back to the onion soup mix packet, but thanks for the recipe. I'm glad so many like it, it just wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I just made this. I stuck to the recipe exactly. All I did was sautee the onion (slices) then in the same pan, I browned the roast. Put it all in the slow cooker, then covered the roast with baby carrots and cut up red potatoes. I was skeptical because of all the reviews saying it was salty -- so I added the potatoes (to make it a complete meal, and to soak up any extra salt I didn't want from the dressing mixes). Mine cooked for exactly 8 hours and came out perfect!! I used a 2.6 lb roast and there was nothing left! My husband ate 3 plates of it and said it was a keeper. I thought the meat was incredibly tender and the potatoes and carrots flavorfull. I liked how insanely easy it was. Will definitely be making this again, but will buy a bigger roast! ;) If anyone is worried about it being salty, just throw some potatoes in with everything. I didn't find it salty in the least. I don't know why you wouldn't want to make it with potatoes anyway, it's a complete meal that way! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States