Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I've always thought that slower cooker dishes lack flavor. I put in flavorful ingredients, but the slow cooking process seems to homongenize everything and the liquid thins out the flavor. That did not happen with this recipe. The gravy was thick and rich and highly seasoned. I was very hesitant to use all those mixes, but I had them in the pantry (some for quite awhile) and I needed to use them up or throw them away. My husband had two helpings and proclaimed it "Good stuff!" Thank you so much for the post, keylimeone, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Beachbaby 72
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Loved this recipe! I went exactly by the recipe and this is the best pot roast ever. Very flavorful, just the right amount of seasoning. The gravy is rich and brown. The only change I would make next time is to add 3/4 cup of water instead. I like my gravy a tad thinner. I also added cubed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Great recipe and the meat was so tender that it practically melts in your mouth! The first time I cooked it according to directions, the meat was too salty. So I made it again and made the following changes and it was a hit (and better too): 1. I only marinated the meat with black pepper. The dry seasonings have enough sodium already. 2. I couldn't find ranch dressing mix, so I used ranch dip mix instead. 3. I mixed the dry ingredients with hot water so that they'll melt faster and added some minced garlic too. Then let it sit for about 10 minutes before putting it into the slow cooker. Next time I'm going to put some jalapenos in there to make it spicy. ***Follow-up on my original review: I made couple of other changes and the dish turned out even better - 1. Mixed the dried ingredients with 1 cup of water. 2. Added crushed red peppers onto the dry ingredients according to how spicy I want it to be. 3. Marinated the meat with crushed peppercorns. 4. I scooped some of the sauce from the side with a ladle and poured it all over the top of the meat 2 & 1/2 hours before it was done, so that the top of the meat would not get too dry. 5. I served it with rice the first couple of times, but served it with spaghetti because this time (I only cooked them according to the package's directions, no salt added into the pasta water), poured some sauce over the noodles and then the meat on top. The sauce complemented the noodles really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I have to admit, I was skeptical with the flavor of the three dry mixes called for, but this was the best tasting roast I've ever had! Used "herb gravy mix for beef" which was the only one I could find and it was delicious. Had a lot leftover so I made wide noodles the next day and we had a yummy version of beef stroganoff. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
449 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
***** We LOVED this recipe! I thought that my mother's recipe was the best I'd ever had until I tried this one. I will always make this one from now on. It's fabulously flavorful and delicious. I added cut potatoes and more liquid for making the gravy because the 1/2 cup liquid seemed way too little. All in all, this recipe was an easy and delightful surprise for my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Best and easiest slow cooker pot roast I ever made!!! Very tender and tasty.Next time I'll try onion soup mix instead of onions. I used a bit more water( about 2 cups) and I added potatoes. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I wish I could give this more stars. Made this tonight and it was absolutely amazing. My wife actually licked her plate. I was skeptical as others about the seasoning combinations but it was without a doubt top notch. The only addition I made was a little red cooking wine over the onions in the bottom and I sprinkled the roast with worcestershire sauce before putting the carrots and potatoes on top of the roast. I also used a much bigger roast. The roast I used was around 5 lbs. This recipe is on top of my list. Wife is still ranting about the roast and is upset it's better and easier then hers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This was absolutely the BEST meat i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I've never been able to make a good pot roast. This was it!! -- restaurant-quality comfort food. No more searching for the perfect recipe - this is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States