Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made this and it turned out Wonderful. I used a top round roast five pounds. It didn't fit in my crock pot so I put in the oven on 275 degrees for Eight hours. I also browned the roast first. I cut giant carrots in chunks and put under the meat and I used a can of beef broth instead of water. I cooked some baby portabellas in butter and when the roast was done I added those to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Can someone advise on how to make this gluten and dairy free. I know I can't use packaged spices because of those two ingredients. Help! Sounds wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Yes and it was fabulous! Two things, I didn't salt the meat, thought there was enough in the dressing,ranch mix and gravy paks. And instead of water I used strong brewed coffee. Made an awesome gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Cooked this last week, added more onions and red potatoes, just because, and about three garlic cloves. Great...Even better a couple of days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sargpepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My favorite pot roast recipe but I bake it at. 300 for 3 hours in covered casserole dish. I don't add water or flour...just meat with 1 pkg each of brown gravy, Italian dressing, and ranch dressing over it. Just toss on meat ...( less of each pkg if roast is smaller than three pounds.) May add veggies last hour if desired. There should be lots of flavorful sauce to thicken for gravy at the end of three hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Made this last week and the aroma was amazing, the dogs whined all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My mother has made this several times & it is sooooooooo easy & sooooooo yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My family is big on veggies so I cut up red potatoes, celery, carrots, two onions, mince several cloves of garlic and a slice up a 12 ounce package of mushrooms. I fill the crockpot and out the meat on top. I add the liquid with all 3 packets mixed well, but check after 7 hrs as not to dry out your meat. This gravy is my staple for making pot roast. Will never make it any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikster
Home Town: Haverstraw, New York, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Salt, salt and more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I've been using a variation of this for several years now and everyone LOVES it. I don't bother with the onions, just use brown gravy mix, Italian dressing mix, and the ranch drsg. mix. I like lots of gravy so I double the mixes... Mix all the dry ingredients then rub the roast with the mixture. Place the roast fat side up in the crockpot and sprinkle the rest of the dry mix around the roast in the crockpot. I use 2 cups of water to cook with and add more at the end if needed to thin it out for gravy. I also use baby carrots and celery, and sometimes red potatoes, around the roast. If sodium is the concern, I think I would decrease the Italian dressing, as I think it has more sodium than the ranch. It definitely has a stronger flavor, so I think it wouldn't be missed as much in the mix..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States