Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Very, very, very good - and incredibly simple! Perfectly thickened gravy. Meat and carrots that are "just right" tender; not so soft as to fall apart, but fork-tender. In regard to complaints about saltiness- might be differences in the brand of any of the mix packages. We used Publix mushroom gravy mix (in lieu of beef gravy mix), Hidden Valley Ranch dressing and Good Seasons Italian Salad dressing mix - 1 package of each. Just perfect! Might cut down on the pepper just a bit next time, but this is most definitely a "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
My family and I absolutely loved this recipe. I made a few changes due to the amount of meat and timing. I used 4&1/2 pound roast which caused me to change the amount of water to 1&1/4 cups. I also added crushed garlic along with the salt and pepper before coating it with flour, and used two packs of beefy onion dry mix instead of one (because of the amount of water). And because my timing was limited I baked it in the oven at 325 for 5 hours. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!! Thanks for the goodeats keylimeone,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I too was skeptical about adding the "dry mixes" but was very impressed with the results!! The only change made was adding "dry" beef with mushrooms gravy mix to bring the total beef gravy weight up to what was required (1.2 oz). The best crock pot roast I have ever made! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Excellent pot roast recipe. Added brussel sprouts and red skinned potatoes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
So this is the first time I've cooked a pot roast in the slow cooker. I usually do it in the oven. But this will be the only way I do it from now on!! Amazing. I read a lot of the reviews and took suggestions and added a few of my own. Here they are: 1- do not season the meat with salt. The seasonings have enough salt 2- instead of only 1/2 cup of water I used 3/4 of water and 1/4 of red wine. 3- I added baby carrots and small white potatoes cut in half 4- crushed up one clove of garlic and added it as well 5- 2 hours before it was done I added a handful of in chopped mushrooms 6- I took the roast out if the fridge and let it sit out at room temperature for at least a half hour, no more than an hour. Allows the meat to cook more evenly 7- finally I cooked the meat for 9 1/2 hours and the ends came out well done and the middle was a perfect medium rare 8- once done remove some jus, put in a pan and begin to warm. Meanwhile take 2 teaspoons of flour and about 4 teaspoons of water in a cup and whisk until you get a pancake like texture. Slowly add to the boiling jus constantly whisking. Creates a thick heavenly sauce Will do this every time as it was soooo good seems like a lot if extra steps but seriously made it incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I loved this! I've always had issues with beef in slow cookers not retaining it's moisture. This, since it was basically cooked in gravy was absolutely perfect. This was also one of the easiest recipes I've tried. Can't wait to make the leftovers into sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
THIS is The Way Pot Roast Should Taste! Absolutely the tastiest and easiest dish of comfort food you will make this Fall/Winter. I followed the recipe exactly. Served the left-over two nights later over wide noodles. Delish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoriaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
this roast is very tender and a favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was FANTASTIC! I used a packet of Aujus mix instead of the gravy so my "gravy" didn't thicken like it should have.. I just thickened it the old fashioned way, but other than that... it was PERFECT! I put a few potatoes in the pot with the carrots and onions, but also made mashed potatoes on the side. I served it with a garlic beer bread which was also very good! Thanks for this keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States